Topics
A to Z
Data &
 Statistics
Forms &
Publications
News &
Advisories
Licensing &
Certification
Rules &
Regulations
Public Health
Directory
Print this Article   Bookmark and Share
Ordering a Vital Record

In Oregon, the Center for Health Statistics is responsible for issuing certified copies of vital records for events that occurred within the state of Oregon. Vital records are the legal records documenting a vital event, such as a birth, death, marriage, Oregon Registered Domestic Partnership, divorce or fetal death. Birth certificates are the primary documents used to establish identity.

The Center for Health Statistics has birth and death records dating from 1903; marriage records from 1906; and divorce certificates (not decrees) from 1925.


How to Order

Ordering options: Internet  |  Telephone  |  Regular Mail  |  Rush Mail  |  Walk-in  

Description Cost Processing Time (Without an Amendment) Requirements
Internet

Go to 
www.vitalchek.com at any time. Payment by credit/debit card.

Get more details...

Nonrefundable $36.50 fee for one record search. $15 for additional copies of the same record ordered at the same time. Shipped within two work days unless a record problem is discovered. UPS Next Day Air or Express Mail available for additional fee. Access restrictions apply. Identity of applicant will be screened using SSN. Valid ID or alternative ID may be required.
Telephone

Call 1-888-896-4988, 24/7. Payment by credit/debit card only.

Get more details...

Nonrefundable $38.45 fee for one record search.  $15 for additional copies of the same record ordered at the same time. Shipped within two work days upon receipt at Vital Records unless a record problem is discovered. UPS Next Day Air or Express Mail available for additional fee. Access restrictions apply. Identity of applicant will be screened using SSN. Valid ID or alternative ID may be required.
Regular Mail  

Send order form by regular mail.  Payment by money order or check.

Get more details...

Nonrefundable $20 fee for one record search. $15 for additional copies of the same record ordered at the same time. Allow eight to ten weeks for processing and delivery. Payment by check may delay processing. Access restrictions apply. Signature and photocopy of valid ID or alternative ID required.
Rush Mail

Send order form by any overnight delivery service. Pay with a money order. May include prepaid, preaddressed return envelope.

Get more details...

Nonrefundable $20 fee for one record search. $15 for additional copies of the same record ordered at the same time. Shipped within two to three work days unless a record problem is discovered. Access restrictions apply. Signature and photocopy of valid ID or alternative ID required.
Walk-in

Go to 800 NE Oregon Street, Room 205, Portland 97232.  Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.  Submit orders at self-service kiosks by 4:00 p.m.

Get more details...

Nonrefundable $23.25 fee for one record search. $15 for additional copies of the same record ordered at the same time. 35-40 minutes assuming no record problems are discovered.  Amendments are not completed while you wait. Access restrictions apply. Identity of applicant will be screened using SSN. Valid ID or alternative ID required.


On June 13, 2013, Governor Kitzhaber signed House Bill 2093, which reorganizes and clarifies our vital records laws. You may read the full text of the bill at the Oregon Legislature website. You may also review the newly amended Oregon Administrative Rules effective January 1, 2014.

Our HB 2093 Implementation site provides more information about the contents of the bill, the new administrative rules created as a result of it, and a history of its passage.