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Late Filing of Birth Certificates 
 

Please make every effort to send each birth certificate 
within the five days set by law.  Oregon Revised Statute 
(ORS) 432.206 requires a certificate of birth be filed 
with the county registrar or the Center for Health 
Statistics within five days of the birth.  Only 37% of 
Oregon hospitals routinely sent birth records within the 
required time between January and June 2003. The 
average statewide was eight days between birth and 
sending the birth record through EBC, by either modem 
or mailed floppy disk.  Hospitals’ averages ranged from 
3 to 23 days in the first half of this year.  A few hospitals 
moved to an average of more than 40 days during the 
summer.  The size of the hospital and/or the number of 
births didn’t predict timely filing. 
 

In addition to a legal requirement, sending the birth data 
quickly is important for the parents who need a birth 
certificate for their child or who are waiting for the 
child’s SSN.  We often have parents contact us only to 
find that the birth certificate isn’t available more than a 
month after the birth.   
 

Also, it is essential for counties to mail paper copies to 
State Vital Records in a timely manner.  We ask that 
counties routinely mail certificates to us at least once a 
week. 
 

  

 

techniques, tips, and traps for users of the electronic birth certificate (EBC) 

Reminder: 

Birth ‘certificates’ issued by hospitals are not a 
legal record and cannot be used as legal 
documentation.  If relevant to your hospital, 
please tell parents that the ‘certificate’, a 
wonderful memento of the birth that often 
includes the footprints of the baby, decorative 
borders, and seals, is not an official birth record 
and cannot be used as a legal record. 
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Fee Increase Takes Effect 
December 1, 2003 

 

Starting December 1, the fee for the first copy 
of the birth certificate will be $20.  The fee for 
each additional copy ordered at the same time 
will be $15.  The charge for Heirloom Birth 
Certificates will increase to $45.  The fee 
increase will allow CHS to maintain current 
customer service levels, and update our record 
systems to collect data in compliance with 
state needs and new national standards.   

 

Orders requested by fax, telephone, Internet 
or mail, and billed to credit cards will be 
charged the $20 fee for the first record plus a 
$12.50 quick processing fee, and $15 for each 
additional record.   

 

Beginning January 1, 2004, orders received 
with incorrect payment amount will be 
returned to the individual.  This will delay 
processing those requests.  We greatly value 
your assistance in sharing information with 
parents on how to order birth certificates, 
including cost.  Please help us minimize the 
number of orders delayed by letting people 
know of the fee change immediately.  We also 
ask that any forms or handouts, with current 
fees listed be updated to reflect the fee 
change. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 

EBC Revision Mailed 
 

Thank you for your patience with the EBC 
update recall we recently experienced.  For 
those who installed the first update, there was 

a bug that caused the program to skip over 
the Live Births Now Dead field if the Live 
Births Now Living field is 0. 
 

Genesis mailed a new version of the EBC 
software (4.4.02), minus the bug to 
hospitals the week of November 10.  
Please load the new version immediately 
if you haven’t already done so.  The 
changes in this version include clarifying 
race reporting, correcting a saving issue on 
the Immunization screen, and a new 
section on metabolic screening. 

 

Directions for using the new questions on 
the Immunization screen were sent 
separately.  Please have the program 
updated as soon as possible (to correct the 
saving issue) and begin completing the 
new questions on the immunization screen 
no later than January 1, 2004.  David Lazlo 
at (503) 382-2646 is available to answer 
questions on hearing screenings.

What about the rumor (years ago) that 
we were switching to a web-based 
system?  Decreasing state and federal 
funds has held up changing to a web-
based electronic registration system.  
With the fee increase, we plan to 
develop a system for reporting deaths 
first, then use that experience to create 
a web-based birth registration system.  
Both systems will have numerous 
opportunities for input from our 
partners while in development.  If 
things go well, a new birth reporting 
system could be in place in 2007. 

New Brochure 

CHS has created a pamphlet about birth 
certificates for hospitals and county 
registrars to give to clients.  These are 
available on the web at 
www.healthoregon.org/chs or they can be 
ordered from us.  Call Lynda Jackson at 
(503)731-4354 to get an order form. 
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Division of Child Support, Department of 
Justice 
 

Information by telephone 

Salem area:  (503) 373-7300 

Toll-free in Oregon: (800) 850-0228 

Outside Oregon: (503) 378-5567 

TDD:  (503) 956-6244 

Or at 
http://dcs.state.or.us/faqs/faqs.htm#3 

If you have questions on the EBC system, 
Azure Diamon at (503) 731-4474 has the 
answers to many common (and a few unusual) 
questions.  For technical questions, (installing 
or other interactions specific to your computer 
network for example), Amy at Genesis (717) 
909-8540 or Genesis (717) 909-8500 ext 1 
would be the better resource, but we are 
always happy to be the first stop for 
information.   
 

Staffing 
 

The Registration Manager position remains 
vacant.  Before hiring occurs, Jennifer 
Woodward will decide the specific job duties 
based on the needs of our local partners and 
our staff.  Carol Sanders, manager of the 
Certification Unit, is covering most of the 
duties relating to births in the meantime.  And 
of course, Kathy and Azure are available to 
answer your questions as always. 

 

Contacts: 

Kathy Cook, amendments (503) 731-4426 

Azure Diamon, EBC (503) 731-4474  

Carol Sanders, births (503) 731-4416 

Jennifer Woodward, death, fetal death, 
marriage and divorce (503) 731-4109 

 
Married Mothers + Unmarried Fathers = 

No Dad on Birth Certificates 
 

If the mother of a child was married at the 
time of conception, during the pregnancy or at 
birth, the acknowledgement of paternity 
affidavit cannot be used to have a father’s 
name put on the birth certificate.  Only the 
husband’s name can be listed (or none if the 
mother declines to give the information.)  
This is a limitation of the law and is true even 
if the husband agrees that he is not the father.   

 

If a mother is married at any of the times 
stated above, ask for her husband’s name 
rather than the ‘father’s’ name to avoid 
confusion over who can be listed on the 
certificate.  If the mother chooses to have 
no father listed, statistical information on 
the biological father (race, Hispanic 
ethnicity, education, etc.) may be included. 

 

Paternity can be established by court or 
administrative order (such as child 
support).  If a mother or father wants to 
establish paternity, they can ask a family 
law attorney, the State’s Division of Child 
Support, or, if receiving public assistance, 
their case worker. 

 

 

HIPAA Privacy and Public Health 
 

The Health Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act (HIPAA) has required 
hospitals and other medical facilities to 
take even greater care in keeping personal 
information confidential.  HIPAA 
specifically allows Public Health 
Authorities, such as the Center for Health 
Statistics, to collect individual level 
information on reportable events.  County 
registrars are also authorized to collect 
data under HIPAA.   All of the information 
requested on the birth certificate is 
necessary for public health, including 
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information about testing and immunization 
against diseases.   

 

To make it easier for hospital staff to identify 
whom information can be given to, Jennifer 
Woodward sent a memo including CHS 
contacts in April 2003.  A copy of that memo, 
including a list of names on the second page, 
is attached for your reference.   If you are 
unsure about sharing information with 
someone who says they work for the Center 
for Health Statistics, (the State Vital Records 
office), here are two ways to check:  
 
 

• Call our published number then ask to 
be transferred to the individual; 
 

or 
 

• Contact Jennifer Woodward or Carol 
Sanders to confirm the person is 
employed and has access to birth or 
death record information. 

 
Birth Worksheets Not to Be Saved in 

Medical Record 
 

Medical records can be viewed on request by 
patients under HIPAA and subpoenaed by court 
or administrative order.  The bottom section of 
the birth certificate that is “information for 
medical and Health use only” cannot be 
released unless authorized by the State 
Registrar for statistical or research purposes.  
The information is not subject to subpoena or 
court order, and shall not be admissible before 
any court, tribunal or judicial body.  To 
maintain the highest level of confidentiality, 
please keep the birth certificate worksheet in a 
separate location.  We are reviewing the 
retention schedule for worksheets and will let 
you know what we decide. 
 

 

Requesting Samples of Worksheets 
 

We are gathering samples of birth worksheets 
and would love to see whatever form you 
use.  We are also interested in comments 
about what works well and what seems to 
confuse parents or staff.  Our goal is to 
combine the best to be found and share the 
results across the State. 

 

Please make comments on your worksheet 
or on a separate sheet.   It would also be 
helpful to know the source if that 
information isn’t already on the worksheet 
(i.e., ‘Parent completes to here’, ‘Find in 
medical record’, ‘Nurse completes this 
section’).  But mostly, we would like to 
see what people are using.  Please send a 
sample of your worksheet as soon as 
possible to: 

 
Kathy Cook 

Email (if electronic file available)  
Kathy.L.Cook@state.or.us 

 
Mail: P O Box 14050,  
Portland OR 97293-0050 
 
FAX: (503) 731-4084 
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                 The Not-So-Great Unknowns 
 

Oregon is legally required to submit data 
to the National Center for Health Statistics 
(NCHS).  A contract with NCHS helps 
meet the costs of collecting and 
maintaining the data.  This contract 
includes data quality standards.  If we 
don’t meet those standards, we lose 
contract money (but still have to submit 
the data).  

  

It is also immensely more useful for state 
and local planning if data is reported.  
For example, local health departments 
and medical providers often use the 
information on prenatal care by county of 
residence to decide what services are 
needed.  They can then look at 
information organized by age, education, 
race and ethnicity to decide where and 
how to best advertise those services.  
And, babies born with low birth weights 
often require additional medical care; the 
training and equipment needed must be 
determined and obtained for the future 
based on current information. 

 

Earlier this year we contacted several 
hospitals that had high numbers of 
unknowns for race and ethnicity to update 
2002 data.  We will be contacting hospitals 
soon to follow-up on unknowns on several 
elements of 2003 birth data.  We will send 
letters telling each hospital its percentage 

of unknowns.  We will also include a list of records 
that need to be double-checked or updated. 

 

Some examples of the current status of data 
quality for Oregon: 
 

Mother’s race: 

      State average unknowns - 0.7%    
      Hospital range  - 0.0% to 5.6%    
 

Father’s race (not including when father not 
listed): 

State average unknowns – 0.9%    

 Hospital range  – 0.0% to 5.6%  
 

 Mother’s education: 

State average unknowns – 1.7%   
Hospital range – 0.0% to 13.9%  
 

The mother should be asked demographic 
questions such as race, ethnicity, education, 
tobacco and alcohol use, and family history of 
hearing loss before leaving the hospital.  
Mothers (or any relative) should not be asked 
to complete detailed medical information 
(medical factors, complications, procedures, 
or anomalies).  Use the medical record to 
complete these items.  Each hospital will have 
their own way of completing the sections, 
whether by an RN or records clerk.  The 
medical information is required. 

 

We know that sometimes the information is 
truly unknown, and occasionally people will 
refuse to report some fields, such as education 
or race.  But these instances should be few, 
particularly after sharing information on 
confidentiality and the usefulness of the data. 

 

Frequent Issues on Birth Certificates 
 

Overlapping dates are appearing more 
frequently.  For example, last menses date 
and date of last birth are the same.  If 
possible, please confirm questionable dates 
before submitting the certificate (keeping in 
mind the five day timeline). 

Mailed disks sometimes arrive in poor 
condition; we suggest cushioning in a 
padded mailer to avoid having to 
resend.  Or invest in a few rigid plastic 
cases – for about $1.40 each (list price 
in Boise Cascade), you have extra 
protection in the mail – and we’ll send 
them back. 
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Asian Indian versus American (North, 
Central or South) Indian:  Be sure to code 
people born in the country of India as 
Asian Indians (A) rather than American 
Indians (I) unless they specifically identify 
themselves as American Indian. 

 

Additional race coding:  If a person reports 
being Hispanic as their race and they were 
born in Mexico, code to White.  Use the 
race-coding sheet (copy attached) to look 
up the country of birth before choosing 
other or unknown. 
 

People born in Mexico are usually 
(although by no means always) Hispanic.  
If you have a parent who was born in 
Mexico and is listed as non-Hispanic, 
please confirm this information before 
sending the birth certificate (keeping in 
mind the five day timeline). 
 

Don’t hesitate to use the memo field.  
(access by the shortcut of Alt + M).  It is a 
very useful way to explain possible 
discrepancies while the information is 
fresh in your mind. 
 

Examples of good use: 
 

Father born in Mexico who isn’t Hispanic:  
Write ‘confirmed father born in Mexico 
and non-Hispanic’ and avoid our call. 
 

Multiple births reported without matching 
number of birth certificates:  Note the fetal 
death with month and year and be sure to 
include the fetal death under terminations 
of pregnancy if the system will accept date 
during current pregnancy (and avoid our 
call).   
 

Mothers who continued to have menses 
during pregnancy:  Write something like 
‘mother continued menses throughout 
pregnancy’ (and avoid another call). 
 

Mother married, refused husband information. 
 

Use the memo field anytime you think you are 
likely to get a call from our office to confirm or 
clarify the information. 
 

Vital Statistics Trivia 
 

Tuesday was the busiest day for births in 2002, 
with 7,271 babies born to Oregon residents.  
Sunday was the slowest, with only 4,773 
babies.  See Table 2-26 in our Annual Report 
for how the other days stacked up. 
 

Jacob has been the most common name given to 
boys born in Oregon since 1995, and Emily has 
been the most common name given to girls born 
in Oregon since 1996.  (In 1995 Emily lost to 
Jessica, 314 to 315.)  In 2002, 5,602 different 
girls names were used while only 3,696 boys 
names were used.  See Table 38 in our Annual 
Report (Table 37 before 2002) to see the other 
top ten names.  Or look for your name on the 
baby names page at http://www.dhs.state.or.us/ 
publichealth/chs/babyname/babyname.cfm.  
Information is available for births from 1961 to 
2002. 
 

These and other tables can be found in the 
Natality chapter of the Annual Report at 
http://www.dhs.state.or.us/publichealth/chs/baby
name/babyname.cfm.  The report includes 38 
tables covering births by county of residence on 
prenatal care, tobacco use, birth weight, and 
more, as well as statewide tables on method of 
delivery, mother’s country of birth, and 
complications of labor and delivery. 
 

Go to our web site at http://www.dhs.state.or. 
us/publichealth/chs to see more information on 
births, deaths, teen pregnancy, abortions, 
marriages and divorces. 


