
 

Contact JoAnn Jackson at 971-673-1160 or by email JoAnn.Jackson@state.or.us with questions on this report. 

 

Instructions for reading the Funeral Home Report 

 

This report will be mailed each month to the funeral home for use by the manager. The 

report includes information on performance in several areas including timeliness and 

unknown values. At the top of the report, you will see the funeral home name and date 

the report was created.  

 
 

Date report created   

 

 

 

 

      Address   

 

 Funeral Home Report for Deaths Occurring [date range]  

 

Total deaths filed  81 

Death reports registered 81 

Not yet registered    0 

 

In the upper portion of the report, you will see the total number of deaths filed that 

occurred in the reported month and the registered and not registered. We report 

unregistered as well as registered deaths because unregistered deaths often 

indicate a problem with the data.  

 

 Record type: 

 

Electronic   40  49.4% 

Hybrid    40 49.4% 

Paper      1   1.2% 

 

This section reports the types of record filed. The goal is to have all records 

submitted by professional funeral homes be fully electronic.  

 

 Timeliness of records: 

(1) Registered/filed at state/county within five days of death 10 12.3% 

(2) Electronic/hybrid signed within three days of death  41 51.3% 

(3) Electronic – medical certification requested within  16 40.0% 
   three days of death (non-Medical Examiner) 

(4) Medical certifier signed within five days of death  18 22.2% 

Funeral Home Name  



 

Contact JoAnn Jackson at 971-673-1160 or by email JoAnn.Jackson@state.or.us with questions on this report. 

 

This section reports overall timeliness of records and timeliness at several stages 

of the record with both the count of records meeting the requirement and the 

percentage of all records for the month.  

(1) Oregon law (ORS 432.133) requires death to be registered within five days of 

the death.  

(2) The funeral service practitioner is required to provide identifying information to 

the medical certifier within 48 hours after death. The current expectation is that 

this happens no later than the third day after death. 

(3) The current expectation is that the doctor will receive the report of death 

electronically or on paper no later than the third day after death. 

(4) The medical certifier is required to complete the death record within 48 hours of 

receiving the information. Adding the time the funeral director has to send the 

record and the law requiring records be registered within five days, medical 

certifiers should certify (sign) the report of death within five days of death. 

 

 Unknowns – National questions: 
National Standard 

Birthplace of decedent – state  6  7.41%  1.15% 

Place of residence    0  0.00%  1.13% 

Inside city limits    1  1.23%  1.00% 

Marital status     0  0.00%  1.00% 

Education of decedent   0  0.00%  2.06% 

 

This section reports the count and percentage of unknown values to specific 

questions, and the national standard set for the specific question. These are not 

the only items with national standards. However, Oregon is consistently above the 

national standard (failing) on these items. 

 

 Unknowns – State questions: 
State Standard 

U.S. veteran     0  0.00%    10.00% 

If U.S. veteran, served in combat  2  2.47%   10.00%  

 

This section reports on the Oregon specific question about whether the veteran 

served in combat. The question was added in 2012 in response to House Bill 3611 

(2011 session).  
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