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Introducing Groundbreaking News 
 
Thank you for taking the time to read the first 
issue of our newsletter, Groundbreaking 
News.  We are very excited about this 
newsletter.  We have had a similar newsletter 
about birth certificates for many years.  We 
would like Groundbreaking News to 
be a source of information on all aspects of 
the death record.  We want to improve how 
quickly death certificates are received with 
complete data.  We would like to hear what 
you want from this newsletter.  If there are 
topics you would like to see, please let us 
know.  We will do our best to make reading 
this newsletter a good use of your time. 
 
Staff Introductions 
 
Terrie Bollinger – A name that is familiar to 
all, Terrie has been our Nosologist for many 
years.  That is, she is the person responsible 
for turning a complex medical evaluation on 
the cause of death into the International 
Classification of Diseases (ICD-10) three or 
four digit alphanumeric code that is used for 
analysis.  Terrie has frequent contact with 
medical certifiers to clarify cause of death, 
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details of injuries and poisonings, and other 
issues relating to item 3 and items 27 through 
41 on the death certificate.  Terrie is a 
tremendous resource to our office and has been 
invaluable in maintaining Oregon’s high quality 
data.  If you have questions relating to those 
areas, please contact Terrie at (503) 731-4453. 
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Casey Finnegan – Casey recently joined the 
Center for Health Statistics as our Field 
Liaison.  Casey will spend a great deal of 
her time out in the field working on-site with 
our partners, organizing and/or providing 
training, and doing other good work as a 
liaison.  Although new to Vital Records, 
Casey has many years of experience in 
public health.  She will be working on many 
projects, including updating the county 
manual, developing a partners’ page on our 
web site, and this newsletter.  If you have 
any questions for Casey or just want to say 
hello, please call her at (503) 731-4404. 
 
Karen Hampton – Karen has been the 
Registration Unit manager for a short time, 
but has been with Vital Records for several 
years as a research analyst.  Karen has 
ambitious plans for improved 
communication with all our partners (county 
registrars, funeral services practitioners, 
birth clerks, Medical Examiners and others).  
Nothing is holding her back except the need 
for 40 hours in a day and an additional ten 
staff to accomplish everything as quickly as 
desired.  Seriously, we have divided the job 
duties previously performed by the 
registration manager into two positions – 
registration manager and field liaison.  This 
increase in resources has long been needed 
to meet our dual goals of being available in 
our office and being available to our 
partners in their offices; combined, these 
result in the highest degree of 
communication and cooperation, and the 
highest quality of service for Oregonians.   
 
Next issue – meet Jennifer Woodward, Kathy 
Cook, and David Hopkins 
 
 

24-Hour Notices Required 
 
Funeral service practitioners are required 
by law (ORS 432.317) to send notice to 
the county registrar within 24 hours of 
receipt of a body.  Several county 
registrars have reported not receiving these 
reports, or not receiving them in a timely 
manner.  These reports, currently 
submitted using the abstract form (Form 
45-106), alert the county of the death.  
This is a practical benefit to the county 
since it provides basic information that 
allows follow up with the funeral home if a 
death certificate is not filed.  In addition, 
the form serves (directly in some counties) 
as the death abstract file. 
 
The State Vital Records office and several 
counties issue certified copies of death 
certificates based on faxed copies of 
certificates.  This method of obtaining 
certified copies does not change the  
obligation to file 24-hour notices or death 
certificates in a timely manner. 
 
Faxed Certificates 
 
The memorandum dated April 3, 2003 set 
out the procedures and time lines for faxed 
certificates.  When a certificate is faxed to 
the State Vital Records office, it is our 
responsibility to review the certificate as 
quickly as possible for accuracy and 
completeness. We will contact the funeral 
service provider no later than noon the 
following day if corrections are needed.  
This same procedure and timeline are 
required for participating county registrars.  
 
The memorandum also stated that 
acceptance of the faxed copy does not  
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constitute filing the certificate, and original 
certificates must be mailed to the county 
registrar within 24 hours of the noon 
deadline.  If there has been a 
misunderstanding and certificates have  
not been sent to the county within 24 hours 
as specified in the memorandum, please 
begin doing so immediately.  Failure to 
comply with either the abstract report or 
filing the original certificate with the 
county could result in cessation of the fax 
service, among other remedies.  If you 
need a copy of the memorandum, please 
contact Karen Hampton at (503) 731-4412.  
 
Fetal Deaths 
 
Unsure if the tiny baby was a fetal death or 
an infant death?  If you are uncomfortable 
asking the parents, the hospital should be 
able to tell you if this was a live birth, in 
which case a death certificate will be 
required, or a fetal death.  If it was a fetal 
death and the fetus leaves the hospital, a 
transit permit, found on the second page of 
Form 45-3 (6/03), Report of Fetal Death, 
and a burial tag are required.  This is true 
even if the birth weight of the fetus was 
less than 350 grams and a fetal death 
report is not required.  This form must be 
signed by the funeral service licensee or 
person acting as such, and sent to the 
registrar of the county where delivery 
occurred, within 10 days of final 
disposition. 
 
What if the fetal death occurred outside a 
facility? 
 
Although infrequent, we do receive fetal 
death reports for births attended by 
midwives or without any attendant.  The 

Medical Examiner must be contacted for 
any fetal death that occurs if a physician 
did not attend the delivery.  ORS 432.333 
requires that the Medical Examiner 
investigate fetal deaths that were not 
attended by a physician at or immediately 
after the delivery, and to prepare and file 
the Report of Fetal Death. 
 
Hospice and the Medical Examiner 
 
An increasing number of people are choosing 
to receive hospice care.  This has raised the 
question (several times) of whether the M.E. 
must be contacted because the person who 
died was receiving medical care up to the 
moment of death.  
 
If a person dies of natural causes at home 
receiving hospice care, the M.E. should be 
contacted, even though it is very unlikely the 
medical examiner would choose to 
investigate.  As with all other cases, if the 
manner of death was not natural, the medical 
examiner must be notified. 

 
If a person dies in a hospice facility, it would 
be treated the same as dying in any other 
medical facility and, if the person died of 
natural causes, the M.E. does not need to be 
notified. 
 
Please work with your community’s hospice 
providers and medical certifiers in contacting 
the M.E. when appropriate.  Failure to do so 
will delay registration of the death certificate. 
 
Which facilities should be coded as hospice? 

 
Only one facility in Oregon, Hopewell House 
Hospice Center in Portland, is considered a 
hospice facility.  If the decedent died at 
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Hopewell House Hospice Center, the place of 
death should be ‘Other’ with ‘Hospice’ 
specified.  Many care facilities throughout the 
state have beds 
dedicated to hospice, but can be identified as 
the type of facility, for example, nursing 
home. 
 

 
Procedures for Amending Death  
Certificates 
 
The Center for Health Statistics has received a 
legal review of the Oregon statute and rules 
on amending and adding information to the 
death certificate and has provided some 
clarification.  The county registrars have been 
notified that these procedures must be 
followed for all death records received, 
regardless of whether the record has been 
officially registered.   
 
On the Certificate of Death, items 1, 2, and 4 
through 24 need to be verified for completion 

by county vital records staff.  County vital 
records staff may change obvious typos, 
transposition of letters in words of common 
knowledge, and/or a misspelled city/state on 
the original death certificate.  If any of the 
information is incomplete or not accurate, 
the funeral service practitioner will be 
contacted for the needed information.  A 
completed signed affidavit to correct a death 
certificate will be required to make any 
changes to these items, other than the 
obvious errors mentioned (ORS 432.235, 
OAR 333-11-0061).  The vital records office 
may make the change based on a faxed 
affidavit from the funeral home. 
 
If the Informant Changes an Item 
 
If the informant needs to change any of the 
information for items 1, 2, or 4 through 24,  
(incorrect information provided to the 
funeral home or funeral home no longer 
active with the record), an affidavit must be 
completed and signed by the informant.  For 
corrections filed by informants, the vital 
record must have the original signature; 
therefore the change cannot be made based 
on a faxed document. 
 
If There are Changes to the Medical 
Information 

 
For the medical portion of the certificate, 
(items 3 and 27 through 41f), county staff 
can make additions or minor corrections 
without an affidavit only on items that can 
be easily verified by independent means, for 
example, the Board of Medical Examiner’s 
web site.  County staff cannot change any 
other item in this section on the original 
certificate without a correction affidavit that 
has been signed by the certifying physician, 

 
Hospice is both a place and a concept 
that describes a particular set of services. 

 
Hospice service differs from other medical 
care in that hospice also provides 
psychological, social, spiritual, and 
practical assistance to the patient and 
family, in the patient’s home-like setting.  
This provides an important alternative to a 
terminally ill patient when choosing how to 
live the last part of their life.  See the 
Oregon Hospice Association’s home page 
(www.oregonhospice.org) for more 
information. 
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nurse practitioner, or physician assistant 
whose signature appears on the death 
certificate.  The correction affidavit from the 
certifier requires an original signature and 
cannot be accepted by fax. 
 
If the name in Item 34 clearly doesn’t match 
the signature in Item 29, the county will need 
to contact the funeral home to obtain the 
appropriate documentation from the certifier 
who signed the certificate correcting the typed 
name, title and address. 
 
Amendment Fee 
 
A fee of $50 is required to amend a death 
certificate if the amendment is filed more than 
one year after the date of death. (OAR 333-
011-0106(7)  This fee includes one certified 
copy of the amended death certificate.  
However, no fee is charged for amendments 
to the cause of death filed by the physician or 
medical examiner that signed the death 
certificate. 
 
Replacing Corrected Copies 
 
The State Vital Records office will replace 
copies issued by counties, if needed after 
amendment.  In some cases, county offices 
may also replace copies issued by the state, if 
amendments are received when the original is 
still at the county.  Beginning in December 
2003, there is a $20 fee for replacing 
certificates.  The charge for replacing 
certificates may be waived if replacing one to 
three certificates, but must be collected when 
replacing four or more.  Incorrect certificates 
must be returned to qualify as replacements. 
 
Death Certificate Form 
 

Some medical certifiers have asked which 
pages of the Certificate of Death, Form 45-2 
(8/03) are required at the time they sign the  
death certificate.  Attached is a letter  
explaining the purpose and destination of each 
page of the death certificate  Please feel free to 
share this letter if medical certifiers in your  
area have questions or general concerns about 
the completeness or legality of the certificate. 
In addition to the information required on 
pages one and two, the third (yellow) and 
fourth (green) pages provide for permission for 
transit or final disposition of remains. 

 
For final disposition, the bottom portion of the 
yellow page must be completed, signed, and 
sent to the registrar of the county of death 
within 10 days of disposition. On the reverse 
side of the yellow page you will find the 
addresses and phone numbers of Oregon’s 
county registrars.   
 
The bottom portion of the green page must also 
be completed and signed.  The green page is 
retained by the person in charge of the place of 
final disposition, such as the cemetery or 
crematory. 
 
Disposition Out-of-State  
 
Currently, the only permit allowing transport of 
remains for final disposition in another state is 
the properly completed green copy from the 
Certificate of Death, Form 45-2, which is 
referred to in the paragraph above.  The 
Mortuary and Cemetery Board issued a letter 
dated July 27, 2004, that explains in further 
detail the rules and requirements of out of state 
disposition.  This letter is available on the 
Board’s website, www.oregon.gov/MortCem, 
under Compliance Issues.  For further 
information contact the Mortuary and Cemetery 
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Board, State Office Building, 800 NE Oregon 
Street, Suite 430, Portland, OR  97232.  The 
Board may be reached at (503) 731-4040. 
 
You may order Certificate of Death Forms 45-
2 or Report of Fetal Death Forms 45-3 using 
Request for Vital Records Forms and Tags 
available from the Oregon Vital Records 
office.  You may fax your request to (503) 
731-3076, or order by mail from the Center 
for Health Statistics, 800 NE Oregon Street, 
Suite 225, Portland, OR 97232-2162. 

 
Donation as the Method of Final Disposition 
 
There has been an increasing interest in how 
often bodies are donated.  In the past, we 
asked funeral service practitioners to mark a 
single box for Method of Disposition (Item 
20a).  At that time, if a body was donated to 
OHSU and later cremated, only “cremation” 
would be marked as the method of 
disposition.  
 
In response to the increased interest, we are 
asking funeral service practitioners to report 
donation in addition to another method of 
final disposition, if relevant.  This is 
regardless of whether some or all of the body 
is later cremated or buried.  For example, if a 
body is donated to OHSU and later cremated, 
both donation and cremation will be marked 
as the final disposition.  If you have any 
questions on how to report final disposition, 
please contact Karen Hampton at (503) 731-
4412. 
 
Mea Culpa  Karen Hampton 
 
My apologies to funeral directors, county 
registrars, and their staff about a recent 

miscommunication regarding decedents’ 
names and dates (whether alpha or numeric) 
required on the death certificate. 
We recently asked counties to collect  
alphanumeric dates, e.g., October 8, 2004 
rather than 10/8/2004, for all dates on the 
death certificate.  We included in that Item 
30 which is the date the medical certifier 
signs.  This is incorrect.  We need the date 
of death, the date of birth, and the date 
pronounced dead, (if a Medical Examiner 
case), to be alphanumeric if possible.   
Dates signed, including Items 30 and 33, 
can be numeric only.  We do not send 
records back to funeral homes if the dates 
come in numeric form and we will not 
require the county vital records offices to 
do so. 
 
Unfortunately, Lane County acted with good 
faith and began requiring the dates to be in 
the format we had instructed.  I want to 
thank Miriam Bolton and her staff for their 
hard work in following our instructions.  
Although the mistake was from our office, it 
created more work for both their office and 
the funeral homes’ staff.   The most sincere 
apology doesn’t seem enough, so tell a joke 
at our expense.  But please don’t doubt our 
good faith in following Oregon laws and 
rules relating to vital records. 
 

On the bright side, (we always look for the 
bright side), this has further energized us to 
update the county manuals.  We need to give 
the counties current information that matches 
similar actions in the State office, so they can 
continue doing a great job with confidence.  
This newsletter is another method we will use 
to share timely information with funeral 
services practitioners and the counties.  Watch 
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for it quarterly.  And please give us suggestions 
for topics to be included. 


