- The Oregon Medical Marijuana Act (OMMA) protects medical marijuana users who comply with its requirements from Oregon criminal prosecution for production, possession, or delivery of marijuana.
- The Oregon Department of Justice has advised the Oregon Health Authority’s Oregon Public Health Division that the OMMA neither protects marijuana plants from seizure nor individuals from prosecution if the federal government chooses to take action against patients, caregivers or growers under the federal Controlled Substances Act.
- Oregon residency is not required to participate in the Oregon Medical Marijuana Program; however, an Oregon Medical Marijuana card only protects cardholders within the State of Oregon. Oregon cardholders are only protected in another state if that state legally recognizes Oregon’s medical marijuana cards. At this time, the OMMP is not aware of any “reciprocity” agreements with any other states to honor the Oregon law. Because medical marijuana programs vary by state, you may want to contact the state to which you are traveling for information on their laws. An Oregon cardholder acts at his or her own risk when possessing, producing or delivering medical marijuana in another state without a medical marijuana card from that state.
- All portions of the application must be completed by the patient and verified by OMMP staff.
- You must have a qualifying debilitating medical condition as listed on the Attending Physician’s Statement.
- Your physician must be a Medical Doctor (MD) or Doctor of Osteopathy (DO) licensed to practice medicine in Oregon. You must have an established patient/physician relationship with your “attending physician.” Naturopaths, chiropractors, and nurse practitioners cannot sign the documentation. The OMMP cannot refer you to a physician. The OMMP does not have a physician referral list.
- The application and/or growsite registration fee cannot be waived. Partial payments cannot be accepted. Credit card payments are not accepted. Do not mail cash. A 10-day hold will be placed on all issuance of cards when the application is paid by personal check.
- You must list a physical growsite address on your application. Your medical marijuana growsite must be a physical address in the State of Oregon. You, your designated primary caregiver, or your designated grower may grow your medication.
- The OMMP cannot find a designated primary caregiver or grower for you. The OMMP does not keep a referral list of persons who want to be caregivers or growers for patients. You are not required to list a caregiver unless you are less than 18 years old.
- If you decide to change your caregiver or grower, it is your responsibility to notify him or her that he or she is no longer protected under the law.
- Caregivers or growers who are removed from a patient’s application will be given seven (7) days from the date they are removed to return their registry identification card(s) to the OMMP.
- Any grower must allow the OMMP to perform a criminal background check. If a grower has been convicted of violating ORS 475.840 through 475.920 on or after January 1, 2006, that person will be prohibited from producing marijuana for a patient for five years from the date of conviction for the first offense, and permanently for more than one conviction.
- The OMMP will communicate directly only with the patient. All written requests to release information about a patient must be signed and dated by the patient. The OMMP will not accept written or verbal requests for information from your caregiver or any other person without your permission.
- The OMMP cannot supply you with seeds, starter plants, or give you advice on how to grow medical marijuana.
- There is no place in the State of Oregon to legally purchase medical marijuana.
- A grower may be reimbursed for the cost of supplies and utilities associated with the production of medical marijuana; the Act does not allow reimbursement for labor or any other costs.
- All usable marijuana, plants, seedlings and seeds are the property of the patient and must be returned to the patient upon request.
- Usable marijuana, seeds, or live plants may be transferred to another registered cardholder as long as the transferred amount is within the legal limits allowed per ORS 407.300 through 475.346.
- For your protection, it is recommended that all OMMP participants ensure that their current address is on file with the Oregon DMV. In addition, participants are required to notify OMMP of any address change within 30 days.
- If you submit a complete change form within 30 days of the expiration of your current registry cards, the changes will be made to your registration but you may not receive amended registry cards.