A to Z
Data &
Forms &
News &
Licensing &
Rules &
Public Health
Print this Article   Bookmark and Share
Region X IPP History
Region X IPP statesRegion X Infertility Prevention Project

History of the Region X IPP

The Region X Chlamydia Project has served as a national model for widespread screening and treatment of women for Chlamydia trachomatis infection.

Since 1988, uniform selective screening criteria have been implemented at Title X family planning (FP) clinics in Public Health Service Region X (states of Washington, Idaho, Oregon and Alaska).

Beginning in 1993, the Project expanded beyond selective screening in FP clinics to publicly funded STD clinics throughout the four states in the region. In these STD clinics, universal screening of male and female patients has been implemented.

In 1994, the Project expanded to other community agencies serving adolescents and women of reproductive age. These agencies included community and migrant health centers, prenatal programs, school-based adolescent centers, non-Title X FP clinics, and juvenile and adult detention.

Due in large part to the success of the Region X Project, the CDC was able to obtain funds from Congress to launch a National Infertility Prevention Program. In 1992, the CDC, through the Office of Population Affairs (OPA), funded regional demonstration projects in Regions III, VII, and VIII. In 1994, Regions IV, V, and IX received development funds.

In 1995, the remaining three PHS regions, I, II and VI received development funds. These demonstration projects funded through the Infertility Prevention Projects legislation, aim to reduce the costly and destructive sequelae of chlamydia and other sexually transmitted diseases which are responsible for unintended infertility in women.