A to Z
Data &
Forms &
News &
Licensing &
Rules &
Public Health

Meaningful Use and syndromic surveillance

Final rules for stages 1 and 2 of MU have been released. In Oregon, these regulations require participation in syndromic surveillance for some health care entities (hospitals with emergency departments).
Syndromic surveillance is one of several Public Health MU measures in Oregon (for links to other measures, see OHA's Meaningful Use web site).


Hospitals with ED's 

Successful participation by EHs or CAHs in the syndromic surveillance MU measure is defined as follows:
Stage 1
Test submission of an HL7 v2.3.1 or v2.5.1 message (generated with a certified EHR).
Stage 2
Ongoing submission of HL7 v2.5.1 messages for the EHR reporting period (which may start as early as October 1, 2013). 
  • An EHR reporting period is defined as 90 days of reporting for the first year of participation. 
  • See CMS Reporting FAQs for more details about the EHR Reporting period. 

Don't have an emergency department? You're off the hook for sending data. 

OHA is currently not accepting syndromic surveillance data from outpatient providers or other Eligible Professionals (EPs) and hospitals (EHs and CAHs) without EDs. Reference the current syndromic surveillance readiness letter (pdf).
Exclusion information for Stage 1 MU is on page 44570 (EHs and CAHs) and on page 44568 (EPs) of the CMS Final Rules (pdf) 42 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 495.6(e)(10)(iii). Exclusion info for Stage 2 MU is on page 54156 (EHs and CAHs) and 54154 (EPs) of CMS Final Rules (pdf) 42 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 495.6(k)(3)(iii).

Learn more

For an overview of syndromic surveillance and MU, see the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's (CDC's) Public Health Information Network Syndromic Surveillance Fact Sheet (pdf). For specific questions about MU rules and syndromic surveillance, please refer to CMS Final Rules, Stage 1 (pdf) and Stage 2 (pdf).