
 

 
                                        
    

                  Oregon law states that minors who are at least 15 years of age can consent  
                  to medical services without consent from a parent or legal guardian (ORS 
109.640).   109.640). Minors of any age can give consent for testing or treatment of a 
                  sexually transmitted disease (STD) without consent from a parent or 
guardian if the disease is one which is required to be reported to a local or state health 
authority (ORS 109.610). In Oregon, minors are individuals less than 18 years of age. 
                              

 
 
 

The table below shows the age requirements for minors to consent to testing or 
treatment for common STDs without consent from a parent or guardian.  
 

Minors can consent to testing or treatment without a parent or guardian 

at any age1 if at least 15 years of age 

Chlamydia Herpes simplex virus 

HIV Human papillomavirus (HPV) 

Gonorrhea  

Syphilis  

Hepatitis B  
 
1
When these conditions are diagnosed, the health care provider or laboratory must report cases to the 

local or state health authority. Cases are reported to track information on where infections are occurring 
and to inform public health programs. 
    
 
 
 
 

A hospital, physician, nurse practitioner or dentist may inform a parent/guardian of the 
minor’s diagnosis or treatment without the consent of the minor (ORS 109.650). Health 
care providers and patients should discuss confidentiality policies before STD testing or 
treatment is provided.   
 
 
 
Parents or guardians who have not given consent for STD testing or treatment of a 
minor are not legally responsible to pay for these services (ORS 109.610). Health care 
providers and patients should discuss payment methods before STD testing or 
treatment is provided.   
   
 
 
Questions? Call the Oregon HIV/STD Hotline at (800) 777-2437. 
 

Resources 
 

How is payment for services impacted? 

Could parents/guardians learn a minor’s test result? 

This document can be provided upon request in alternative formats for individuals with disabilities or in a 
language other than English for people with limited English skills. To request this document in another 
format or language, contact the HIV Prevention Program at (971) 673-0153 or at (971) 673-0372 for TTY. 
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When can minors give consent without a parent/guardian? 

http://www.oregonaidshotline.com/

