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Oregon’s Drinking Water Program
Small Water System

WHAT IS ASMALL WATER SYSTEM? OUR RULES DEFINE IT AS FOLLOWS:

"Small Water System" means a community or non-transient non-community water system
serving fewer than 150 connections and either uses groundwater as its only source or purchases its
water from another public water system without adding any additional treatment.

333-061-0228 CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR SMALL WATER SYSTEM

OPERATORS

1) An applicant for initial certification as an operator of a small water system must meet one of
the following requirements:

(@) Posses documentation of a high school diploma or Department approved equivalent;
and

(b) Complete of Department approved training on small water system operation and water
treatment processes; or

(c) Pass a Department approved written examination covering basic small water system
operation and water treatment; or

(d) Be certified as prescribed by OAR 333-061-0235 through OAR 333-061-0265 for
water distribution or water treatment.

(2 A small water system operator certificate expires July 31 every third year. A certificate will
be renewed upon satisfactory evidence presented to the Department that the operator has
completed six (6) hours of Department approved continuing education since the issuance
date of the last certificate and submittal of the designated application form. When renewed,
the new certificate will be valid for three years from the expiration date of the prior
certificate.

3 An operator certified in accordance with section (1) of this rule whose certificate has expired
cannot be in responsible charge of any small water system.

4 Small water system operators are exempt from fees.

333-061-0230 CONTRACTING FOR SERVICES
(1)  Water systems may contract with a certified operator or a water system having certified
operators to provide supervision. The contract operator must be certified at the level equal to
or greater than the classification of the water system.
(2)  The written contract must assure that the contracted operator will:
(a) Beavailable on 24-hour call and able to respond on-site upon request;
(b)  Specify corrective action when the results of analyses or measurements indicate
maximum contaminant levels have been exceeded or minimum treatment levels are
not maintained and report the results of these analyses as prescribed by OAR 333-061-
0040; and
(c)  Assure that all operational decisions that affect public health are made in accordance
with OAR 333-061-0225.



(3)  Proof of the contract must be submitted to the Department by the water system owner within
30 days of hire.

(4)  Contracts for Operators that supervise small water systems as defined in OAR333-061-0215
shall expire on July 31 of every third year.

There is now a new resource for contract services. There is a contract template now on our web
page. If you have hired a contract for services operator, you will need a contract signed by both
parties submitted to the drinking water program, operator certification unit within 30 days of hire.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER REQUIREMENT

As a part of your application for an initial or renewed occupational, professional or
recreational license, certification, or registration issued by the State of Oregon, you are required to
provide your Social Security Number to the State of Oregon. This is mandatory. The authority for
this requirement is Oregon Laws 1997, chapter 746, section 117 (ORS 25.785) and 42 USC §
666(a)(13). Failure to provide your Social Security Number will be a basis to refuse to issue or
renew the license, certification, or registration you seek. Although a number other than your Social
Security Number appears on the face of the licenses, certificates, or registrations issued by the State
of Oregon, your Social Security Number will remain on file with the State of Oregon. This record
of your Social Security Number will be used for child support enforcement purposes.
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