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Dear Oregon employer:  
 
 
I am writing to request your support for Oregon’s wage and hour law as it applies to new 
mothers. As an employer, you can support this law by providing unpaid rest periods for 
breastfeeding mothers and a private place at the work site for new moms to express breast milk.   
 
While these workplace requirements may seem inconvenient, research has shown that 
supporting breastfeeding can benefit both your bottom line and the lifelong health of mothers 
and children. For every $1 invested to support breastfeeding, businesses see a $3 return from 
improved employee retention, reduced absenteeism and lower health care costs. Parents of 
formula-fed babies miss 27 percent more work days to care for a sick child than parents of 
breastfed babies.   
 
The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends that new moms breastfeed their infants for at 
least the first 12 months of the child’s life. Breast milk provides infants with nutrients essential 
for brain development and a strong immune system to fight diseases. The protection that 
breastmilk provides lasts for many years after breastfeeding ends.  
 
For example, breastfeeding is the first defense against obesity. Children who are not breastfed 
have higher rates of both obesity and diabetes. Children not breastfed have more infections, 
asthma, leukemia and dental caries. Women who do not breastfeed have higher rates of ovarian 
cancer and osteoporosis.  
 
Breastfeeding plays an important role in improving the health of babies and their mothers. And, 
researchers now know that breast milk cannot be duplicated by artificial means. Employer 
support can make all the difference in giving children and their mothers the chance for a 
healthier life.   
 
Thank you for investing in the health of Oregon families by supporting working mothers 
who breastfeed. 
 
 
Bruce Goldberg, M.D. 
Director, Oregon Department of Human Services 
 

 



 
 

Additional Information about Breastfeeding and Oregon’s  
Wage and Hour Law:  Rest Periods for Breastfeeding Mothers 

 
 
Breastfeeding Facts 
 

1. The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends breastfeeding for at least the first year 
of life. 

2. Data show a savings of $400 to $1,000 per year for every breastfed baby. 
3. For every 1,000 babies not breastfed there are 2,033 excess doctor visits and 212 extra 

days in the hospital. 
4. Nationally, the higher rate of diabetes in formula-fed children costs a minimum of $1.1 

billion per year. 
 
 
Wage and Hour Law (ORS 653.077) – Effective January 1, 2008 
 

1. Applies to employers with 25 or more employees. 
2. Administered by Bureau of Labor and Industries.   
3. Requires employers to provide: 

• At least one unpaid 30-minute rest period per four hours of work for milk expression 
for women with children 18 months of age or younger.   

• A private place for expressing breastmilk, not a toilet stall or restroom. 
 
 
For More Information on the Wage and Hour Law 
 

• Oregon Department of Human Services:  
http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/ph/bf/hb2372.shtml 

• Bureau of Labor and Industries (BOLI): http://www.boli.state.or.us/   
 

Contact information for BOLI Wage and Hour Section 
Eugene  1400 Executive Pkwy, Suite 200 

Eugene, OR 97401 
541-686-7623 

Medford  119 N Oakdale Ave, Medford, OR 97501 541-776-6270 
Portland  800 NE Oregon St,  Suite 1045 

Portland, OR 97232 
971-673-0761,  

  TTY – Portland 971-673-0766 
Salem  3865 Wolverine St NE; E-1 

Salem, OR 97305-1268  
Representantes hispanohablantes están 
disponibles en Portland, Salem, y Medford. 

503-378-3292 
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