
Guidelines for Authorized 
“A Safe Place for Newborns” Facilities 

Oregon Law states that: 
“A parent may leave a newborn at an authorized facility in the physical custody of 
an agent, employee, doctor, or other medical professional working at the authorized 
facility if the newborn: 

(a) Is 30 days of age or younger as determined to a reasonable degree of medical 
certainty; and 

(b) Shows no evidence of abuse. 
A parent leaving a newborn is not required to provide any identifying information 
about the newborn or the parent, and may leave the facility at any time”. 

 
Under Oregon’s A Safe Place for Newborns law, the following are authorized safe infant 
surrender facilities: 

» Hospitals » Doctors’ Offices 
» Birthing Clinics » Police Stations 

» Sheriff Offices » Fire Departments 

 
If you are an employee working in an authorized safe infant surrender facility, you may 
receive an infant at any time, with no prior notice. The following guidelines will help you to 
carry out your responsibilities in regard to this law. 

 
Preparation to receive an infant under A Safe Place for Newborns law: 

o Ensure that all staff in your facility know about the law and are trained in 
these guidelines. 

 

o Familiarize your staff with the A Safe Place for Newborns packet, 
including:  For your staff: 

1) A Safe Place for Newborns Guidelines 
2) Drop-Off Report Form 

For the parent: 
1) Letter for Parents 
2) CHS Child Welfare Offices phone numbers by Counties 
3) Medical and Genetic History from 

o Ensure that all staff know where the A Safe Place for Newborns packet is 
kept. 

o Post these guidelines in a visible location for staff reference. 



When an infant is brought to your facility for surrender under the A Safe Place for 
Newborns law: 

Immediately upon receipt of a newborn: 

o Retrieve A Safe Place for Newborns packet 
o Do not try to identify the person (parent) surrendering the infant. 
o Perform all reasonable acts to ensure the health and safety of the child including: 
o Check infant for any visible signs of abuse. 

o Estimate if the infant is 30-days-old or younger. 
(1) If the baby shows signs of abuse or appears much older than a 30 day old 
infant, call the police and your local DHS Child Welfare Office 
(2) If the baby seems to be a newborn and there are no signs of abuse,  
proceed with the following steps. 

o Give the parent the 
(1) Letter for Parents and 
(2) DHS County Child Welfare Offices phone list. 

o Ask if the parent would fill out a voluntary health questionnaire about the 
infant. 

(1)  The parent can take the questionnaire with them and fill it out and 
mail it later (self-addressed stamped envelope). 

 
Within the first 24 hours, your facility must: 

o As soon as possible but no later than 24 hours after receiving the newborn, notify 
your local DHS Child Welfare Office that a newborn has been left at the facility. 
The phone number for local DHS Child Welfare Office is: 

 

___________________________________________________ 

o Record the receipt of the infant on the Drop-Off Report Form. 

o Release the newborn to DHS Child Welfare when it is appropriate considering 
the newborn’s medical condition. DHS Child Welfare will then assume physical 
custody of the newborn. 

o Provide DHS Child Welfare with all information the facility has regarding the 
newborn, including the Drop-Off Report Form. 

 
Any subsequent inquiry regarding a surrendered newborn should be directed to your local 
DHS Child Welfare Office: 

 

___________________________________________________ 

Local DHS Child Welfare Office phone number:  


