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SYNOPSIS of OAR 333-024-0365:  

SUBSTANCE OF ABUSE (SOA) TESTING FOR REGISTRATION LABORATORIES 
 

 
Effective October 4, 1997, facilities/entities performing non-medical, manual, 
easily portable methods to screen for substance of abuse must register annually 
with the Public Health Division (the Division) of the Oregon Health Authority 
(OHA). [Prior to October 4, 1997, these entities had to be licensed by the Division 
as a Substance of Abuse (SOA) screening laboratory.] 
 
Licensed clinical laboratories or laboratories certified or accredited under the 
Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA), that perform only non-
medical SOA testing using manual, easy portable methods, must file a Registration 
with the Department, pay the $50, and meet the requirements of OAR 333-024-
0365.  A CLIA laboratory certified for toxicology testing, and inspected for the 
same manual method used for their medical and non-medical testing, does not 
need to obtain a separate Registration, but must follow the requirements of OAR 
333-024-0365 for the non-medical testing. 
 
REGISTERED ENTITIES ARE EXEMPT FROM: 

-On-site survey 
-Proficiency testing 
-Other extensive regulations 
 
ENTITIES ARE REQUIRED TO: 
-File a registration form with the Division prior to test performance; an entity 
may be an individual, partnership, corporation, company, district, or 
local/county/state agency; an entity may be multiple sites under common 
ownership. 
 
-Provide the location address and contact individual for all testing sites operated 
by the entity. 
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-Pay the Division a registration fee of $50 per entity, per year; fee cycle is January 
1st through December 31st. 
 
-Post evidence of registration with the Division in view of the clients, at each 
location where SOA testing occurs. 
 
-Establish and follow chain of custody procedures. 
 
-Use only tests\kits approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA). 
 
-Follow manufacturer's instructions for test performance (including, but not 
limited to, quality control and temperature, storage and testing requirements). 
 
-Assure appropriate training of testing personnel by the test manufacturer. 
 
-Submit the same specimen used to perform the drug screen, for confirmation 
testing, if the test result may be used to deprive or deny any client any 
employment or benefit or may otherwise result in adverse employment action (to a 
licensed clinical laboratory authorized by the Division to perform SOA 
confirmation tests). 
 
-Assure that specimens sent to reference laboratories outside of Oregon for 
confirmation testing are sent only to laboratories which meet or exceed Oregon 
law. 
 
-Inform the Division within 30 days of changes in entity ownership (requires re-
registration) and additions or deletions of on-site testing locations authorized to 
test for substances of abuse under the entities' registration. 
 
-The entity must be prepared to provide proof to a court of law that they meet the 
above requirements.  This means each entity location must document evidence 
they meet or exceed each requirement and maintain the documentation for an 
unspecified length of time.  The burden of proof is on the testing entity. 
 
-Refer to the complete OAR for more specific information on requirements. 
 
 
This document is available in alternate formats by calling 503-693-4100. 
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