Topics
A to Z
Data &
 Statistics
Forms &
Publications
News &
Advisories
Licensing &
Certification
Rules &
Regulations
Public Health
Directory
Print this Article   Bookmark and Share

Emergency Medical Services & Trauma Systems

Staff

EMS Staff

Dana Selover
Director of EMS & Trauma Systems
Section Manager, Health Care Regulation and Quality Improvement
dana.s.selover@state.or.us
971-673-0520

David Lehrfeld, MD
Medical Director, State of Oregon EMS and Trauma Systems
david.p.lehrfeld@state.or.us
971-673-0520


Barbara Chapman
Support Specialist
barbara.chapman@state.or.us
971-673-0526

Philip Engle
EMSC Program Manager
philip.p.engle@state.or.us
971-673-0525

Justin Hardwick, Paramedic
Professional Standards Representative
justin.hardwick@state.or.us
971-673-0532

Leslie Huntington, Paramedic
Southern Oregon Mobile Training Unit Coordinator
leslie.d.huntington@state.or.us
503-931-0659

Brandon Klocko
Professional Standards Representative
brandon.e.klocko@state.or.us
971-673-0530

Rebecca Long, Paramedic
Northern Oregon Mobile Training Unit Coordinator
rebecca.j.long@state.or.us
971-673-0533

Stella Rausch-Scott
Committee Specialist
stella.m.rausch-scott@state.or.us
971-673-1322

May Saechao
EMS Administrative Specialist
may.s.saechao@state.or.us
971-673-0524

Veronica Seymour
EMS License and Compliance Coordinator
veronica.seymour@state.or.us
971-673-0531

Sandra Smith
Education Coordinator
sandra.k.smith@state.or.us
971-673-3134

Donna Wilson, Paramedic
Professional Standards Representative and Ambulance Agency Representative
donna.r.wilson@state.or.us
541-548-2206 x 311

Trauma Systems Staff

Dana Selover, MD
Director of EMS & Trauma Systems
Section Manager, Health Care Regulation & Quality Improvement
dana.s.selover@state.or.us
971-673-0520

David Lehrfeld, MD
Medical Director, State of Oregon EMS and Trauma Systems
david.p.lehrfeld@state.or.us
971-673-0520

Lisa Millet
Injury Prevention Program Manager
lisa.m.millet@state.or.us
971-673-1059


Donald Au
Research Analyst 3
donald.k.au@state.or.us
971-673-0521

Phyllis Lebo
Trauma Program Coordinator
phyllis.lebo@state.or.us
971-673-0488

Nathan Jarrett
EMS and Trauma Data Coordinator
nathan.jarrett@state.or.us
971-673-0527

Programs

Emergency Medical Systems for Children (EMSC)

EMSC works to ensure that state-of-the-art emergency medical care is available for all ill or injured children and adolescents; that pediatric services are well integrated into an emergency medical services (EMS) system; and that the entire spectrum of emergency services, including primary prevention of illness and injury, acute care, and rehabilitation are provided to children and adolescents.

Mobile Training Unit (MTU)

We work to keep rural volunteer emergency response agencies operational through the provision of continuing education that is mandatory for certified EMS personnel. The MTU is designed to ensure adequately trained and certified volunteer ambulance, EMTs and First Responders in economically challenged service areas are able to provide 911 services.

Professional Standards and Licensing

The Professional Standards and Licensing unit ensures a quality response for medical emergencies throughout Oregon by licensed Emergency Medical Services (EMS) providers, agencies, and ambulances. This unit develops, implements, and enforces standards pertaining to the actions of licensed EMS providers and the operation of agencies and ambulances. Along with Oregon Department of Education and Oregon's educational institutions, this unit uses uniform methods for assessing the knowledge and skills required for competent and standard practice required by licensed EMS providers.

Trauma and Tertiary Care Program

We are responsible for the development, implementation, and ongoing monitoring of the state's trauma system, including establishment of system standards and designation of trauma hospitals to care for injured patients.

About Us

The Emergency Medical Services & Trauma Systems Program develops and regulates systems for quality emergency medical care in Oregon. We ensure that responders are fully trained, emergency medical vehicles are properly equipped, and emergency medical systems are functioning efficiently and effectively.

The Emergency Medical Services & Trauma Systems Program is part of Health Care Regulation and Quality Improvement in the Center for Health Protection.

Read More
Our Responsibilities
  • Interpret Oregon law and federal guidelines pertaining to EMS service providers, ambulance service agencies, trauma systems and EMS for Children.
  • Issue licenses for EMS providers and ambulance service agencies
  • Investigate complaints and takes disciplinary action against licensees in violation of rules pertaining to EMS providers and ambulance service agencies
  • EMS training, assessment and evaluation of EMS education and training programs
  • Provide testimony to the legislature and other organizations as needed
  • Emergency health care systems
  • EMS mobile training
  • Physician Orders for Life Sustaining Treatment (POLST)
  • Trauma systems

What We Do

Contact Us

Phone:971-673-0520
FAX:971-673-0555
TTY:971-673-0372

Address

Emergency Medical Services & Trauma Systems
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 465
Portland, OR 97232

Hours of Operation

8:00 A.M.- 5:00 P.M.