Topics
A to Z
Data &
 Statistics
Forms &
Publications
News &
Advisories
Licensing &
Certification
Rules &
Regulations
Public Health
Directory
Print this Article   Bookmark and Share

Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention Section

Staff

Managers

Kirsten Aird, MPH
Interim Chronic Disease Programs Manager
kirsten.g.aird@state.or.us 
971-673-1053

Karen Girard, MPA
Section Manager
karen.e.girard@state.or.us
971-673-1046

Luci Longoria, MPH
Interim Health Promotion Manager
luci.longoria@state.or.us
971-673-1064

Donald Shipley, MS
Cancer Control Manager
donald.k.shipley@state.or.us
971-673-0986

Program Staff

Michelle Adams
HPCDP and IVPP Fiscal Specialist
michelle.a.adams@state.or.us
971-673-1026

Vicky Buelow, MA
Diabetes Program Research Analyst
victoria.h.buelow@state.or.us
971-673-0984

Tamara Burkovskaia
Arthritis Community Programs Coordinator
tamara.v.burkovskaia@state.or.us
971-673-1085

Laura F. Chisholm, MPH, MCHES, RYT
Self-Management Technical Lead
laura.f.chisholm@state.or.us
971-673-0987

LeeLa Coleman, CTR
Non-hospital Cancer Data Consultant
leela.j.coleman@state.or.us
971-673-1056

Parishad Ehfad
HPCDP Administrative Specialist
parishad.ehfad@state.or.us
971-673-0984

Andrew Epstein, MPH, CHES
Diabetes Community Programs Coordinator
andrew.d.epstein@state.or.us
971-673-2379

Shannon Evangelista
Cancer Research Analyst
shannon.d.evangelista@state.or.us
971-673-0986

Claudia Feight, RHIT, CTR
Cancer Registry Quality Assurance & Training Coordinator
claudia.f.feight@state.or.us
971-673-0986

Steven Fiala, MPH
Heart Disease / Stroke Prevention and Tobacco Prevention Research Analyst
steven.c.fiala@state.or.us
971-673-1041

Leah M. Fisher, MPH
Asthma Community Programs Coordinator
leah.m.fisher@state.or.us
971-673-1039

Theresa Fogg
HPCDP Executive Support Specialist
theresa.a.fogg@state.or.us
971-673-0984

Sabrina Freewynn, MPH
Interim Community Programs Team Lead
sabrina.l.freewynn@state.or.us
971-673-1121

Rodney Garland-Forshee, MS
Asthma Epidemiologist
rodney.garland@state.or.us
971-673-0984

Heather Gramp, MPH
Physical Activity and Nutrition Policy Analyst
heather.gramp@state.or.us
971-673-0630

Holly Heiberg
Health Promotion and Communications Strategist
holly.heiberg@state.or.us
971-673-2826

Nancy Henderson, CTR
Cancer Registry Data Consultant
nancy.l.henderson@state.or.us
971-671-0986

Kimberly La Croix, MPH, RD
Policy Specialist
kimberly.w.lacroix@state.or.us
971-673-0606

Pieter M. Leffers
Research Analyst 3
pieter.m.leffers@state.or.us
971-673-0139

Chipo Maringa, PhD, MA
HPCDP Research Analyst
chipo.maringa@state.or.us
971-673-1114

Jennifer Mead, MPH
Aging and People with Disabilities Healthy Aging Coordinator
jennifer.mead@state.or.us
971-673-1035

Susan Miles
Self Management Programs Administrative Support Specialist
susan.m.miles@state.or.us
971-673-1004

Kati Moseley, MPH
Health Promotion Strategist
katarina.moseley@state.or.us
971-673-1002

Duyen Ngo, MPH, PhD
Surveillance Technical Lead
duyen.l.ngo@state.or.us
971-673-0984

Jenica Palmer, MPH
Comprehensive Cancer Community Programs Coordinator
jenica.palmer@state.or.us
971-673-1117

Shaun Parkman, MA
Evaluation Lead
shaun.w.parkman@state.or.us
971-673-0894

Meena Patil, MPH
Cancer Senior Research Analyst
meena.patil@state.or.us
971-673-0986

Rebecca Pawlak, MPH
Wellness at Work Coordinator
rebecca.l.pawlak@state.or.us
971-673-1034

Tamara Ramirez
HPCDP Administrative Specialist
tamara.ramirez@state.or.us
971-673-0984

Beth Sanders, MPH
Cessation Coordinator
elizabeth.c.sanders@state.or.us
971-673-0563

Patricia Schoonmaker, MPH
Cancer Control Team Lead
patricia.schoonmaker@state.or.us
971-673-0984

Stacey Schubert, MPH
Surveillance Team Lead
stacey.s.schubert@state.or.us
971-673-1099

Linda Shan, MBA
Cancer Registry Data Consultant
linda.y.shan@state.or.us

Jeffrey Soule
Cancer Registry Research Coordinator
jeffrey.a.soule@state.or.us
971-673-0986

Deborah Towell, CTR
Cancer Registry Program Coordinator
deborah.j.towell@state.or.us
971-673-0986

Tara Weston, MPH
Tobacco Community Programs Coordinator
tara.e.weston@state.or.us
971-673-1047

Terresa White
HDSP Community Programs Coordinator
terresa.l.white@state.or.us
971-673-0984

Ray Wikle
Budgets and Contracts Coordinator (FA2)
raymond.l.wikle@state.or.us
971-673-2281

Will Worrall, MA
Tobacco Program Research Analyst
william.h.worrall@state.or.us
971-673-0536

 

Programs

Arthritis Program

The goal of the Arthritis Program is to reduce the impact of arthritis in Oregon through a public health approach, working in collaboration with partners in the public and private sectors.

Asthma Program

The Oregon Asthma Program's vision is to improve the quality of life for Oregonians with asthma so that all people in Oregon live, work, play and learn in communities that support health and optimal quality of life.

Healthy Worksites - Wellness@Work

The Wellness@Work Initiative is a public-private partnership that aspires to reach Oregonians with workplace policies and programs that support employees to eat healthier, move more, quit tobacco, and use the kinds of health care that will improve and sustain their health.

Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Program

The Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Program is working towards a heart-healthy and stroke-free Oregon. We focus on developing partnerships and advancing policy to strengthen capacity, evaluate impact and take actions for a heart-healthy and stroke-free Oregon.

    Living Well Program

    The Living Well Program is based on the Chronic Disease Self-Management Program (or CDSMP). It is a six-week workshop that provides tools for living a healthy life with chronic health conditions including diabetes, arthritis, asthma and heart disease.

    Oregon Comprehensive Cancer Control Program

    The Oregon Partnership for Cancer Control (OPCC) formed to develop and implement Oregon's Cancer Plan. We are a vibrant partnership organization providing many opportunities to get involved.

    Oregon Diabetes Program

    The goal of the Oregon Diabetes Program is to reduce the burden of diabetes in Oregon.

    Oregon State Cancer Registry (OSCaR)

    The Oregon State Cancer Registry (OSCaR) was established in August 1995, when the Oregon Legislature unanimously passed legislation making cancer a reportable disease. The Registry began collecting information on all cancers diagnosed in Oregon as of January 1, 1996.

    Physical Activity & Nutrition Program

    The Physical Activity & Nutrition Program works with partners in the community to promote daily physical activity and healthy eating through implementation of Oregon's Statewide Physical Activity and Public Health Nutrition Plans.

    Tobacco Prevention and Education Program (TPEP)

    Oregon's Tobacco Prevention and Education Program (TPEP) was launched in 1997 with a clear and simple mandate — to reduce tobacco-related illness and death.

    About Us

    Healthy People, Healthy Places

    HPCDP's 2020 vision, mission and framework focus on best practices for promoting and supporting optimal health for all Oregonians.

    The Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention Section is part of the Center for Prevention and Health Promotion.

    Read More

    Our framework focuses resources and work on tobacco-free lifestyles, easy access to healthy foods, easy and safe access to physical activity, early disease detection services, and access to self-management supports for people living with chronic diseases.

    The Oregon Health Authority's Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention program efforts are supported by funds from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The Tobacco Control program is also funded with tobacco tax revenues designated by Ballot Measure 44 passed by Oregon voters in 1996. At the current time, no state general fund revenues support these programs.

    Vision
    All people in Oregon live, work, play and learn in communities that support health and optimal quality of life.
    Mission
    To advance policies, environments and systems that promote health and prevent and manage chronic diseases.

    What We Do

    Contact Us

    Phone:971-673-0984
    FAX:971-673-0994
    TTY:971-673-0372

    Address

    Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention Section
    800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 730
    Portland, OR 97232

    Hours of Operation

    8:00 AM - 5:00 PM