Topics
A to Z
Data &
 Statistics
Forms &
Publications
News &
Advisories
Licensing &
Certification
Rules &
Regulations
Public Health
Directory
Print this Article   Bookmark and Share

Early Hearing Detection & Intervention (EHDI)

Staff

Shelby Atwill
Staff Audiologist
shelby.n.atwill@state.or.us
971-673-1014

Claudia Bingham
Maternal & Child Health Program Manager
claudia.w.bingham@state.or.us
971-673-0253

Helen Cotton-Leiser
Parent Coordinator
helen.cotton-leiser@state.or.us
971-673-2302

Julie Hass
Follow-Up Specialist
julie.a.hass@state.or.us
971-673-0264

Heather Morrow-Almeida
EHDI Program Coordinator
heather.r.morrow-almeida@state.or.us
971-673-1883

Benjamin Spencer
Administrative Specialist
benjamin.spencer@state.or.us
971-673-2433

Meuy Swafford
Data Quality Specialist
meuy.f.swafford@state.or.us
971-673-1560

About Us

Newborn hearing screening for infants

Oregon law mandates newborn hearing screening for infants born in hospitals with more than 200 births per year. This law establishes a hearing screening registry, tracking, and recall system that enables the Oregon Health Authority, in collaboration with hospitals, audiologists, local public health, and early intervention facilities, to ensure that infants with hearing loss receive appropriate and timely intervention.

The EHDI program is part of the Maternal and Child Health Section in the Center for Prevention and Health Promotion.

Read More

Hearing loss is the most common birth defect, occurring at a rate of three in every 1,000 children. Early identification of a hearing loss and appropriate intervention enhances a child's potential for speech and language development. The first months of life are a critical period for developing speech and language skills.

National data indicate that half of children who need further assessment and intervention are lost to follow-up in states without a tracking and follow-up system.

Funding for the registry and tracking system comes from two federal grants. The tracking and recall system help ensure that the National Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) Program goals are met in Oregon.

Goals
  • Hearing screening by 1 month of age.
  • Diagnostic audiology by 3 months of age.
  • Enrollment in Early Intervention by 6 months of age.

What We Do

Contact Us

Phone:971-673-0264
FAX:971-673-0251
TTY:971-673-0372
Toll-free number: 888-917-HEAR (4327)

Address

Early Hearing Detection & Intervention (EHDI)
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 825
Portland, Oregon 97232
 

Hours of Operation

8:00 AM - 5:00 PM