In 2007, the Oregon Legislature passed SB480 that increased the age a child must remain in a booster seat.
As of July 1, 2007, the law requires:
- Children over 40 pounds remain riding in a booster seat until age 8, or they are 4 feet 9 inches in height.
- Infants remain riding rear-facing until they are 20 pounds and are 1 year of age.
- Children who are age 8 or over 4 feet 9 inches tall must be properly secured with the safety belt system.
- Oregon law continues to require that children over 1 year old and between 20 and 40 pounds be restrained with a forward-facing child safety seat up to a minimum of 40 pounds or the weight limit of the seat.
These requirements bring Oregon's law up to best practice recommendations.
For more information on child safety seats, go to the ACTS Oregon website: www.childsafetyseat.org or call 1-800-772-1315, or 503-643-5620 in the Portland area.
Booster Seat Flyer
English Booster Flyer (pdf)
Spanish Booster Flyer (pdf)