A to Z
Data &
Forms &
News &
Licensing &
Rules &
Public Health

In Oregon, pharmacists currently can immunize adults with all recommended vaccines, and adolescents 15 years of age and older with influenza vaccine. Since January 1, 2011, pharmacists can give recommended vaccines to adolescents starting at 11 years of age.

Here's what immunizing pharmacists need to know:

  1. Pharmacists must follow the Oregon pharmacy protocols for vaccine administration
  2. Immunizations given must be reported to the Oregon Immunization Information System, ALERT IIS. This can be done online!
    Please call 1-800-980-9431 for questions about reporting to the ALERT IIS.

    Implementation date was no later than January 1, 2014.

    For each vaccine encounter, prior to administering vaccine, pharmacy personnel will look up each patient in the ALERT Immunization Information System (IIS) to determine the patient's vaccine history and to forecast recommended vaccines.
    • This is not required when administering only influenza vaccines, but will continue to be recommended to help increase pneumococcal and all other recommended vaccine rates.
    • This is not required when the pharmacy/pharmacist conducts a remote vaccine clinic, but will continue to be recommended when remote connectivity is available.

For more information on registering and using ALERT IIS, please contact the ALERT IIS Help Desk at 800-980-9431 or or the ALERT IIS website.

Pharmacy symbol
Oregon pharmacy protocols for vaccines.
Law books and gavel
Oregon Revised Statutes and Administrative Rules pertaining to immunization by pharmacists.
Bulletin board
Recommendations, guidelines and additional resources for pharmacists.