Licensing Requirements and Training Resources
To become an Oregon licensed Emergency Medical Responder (formerly known as "First Responder"), you must successfully complete a state-approved U.S. DOT Emergency Medical Responder course instructed by a state-approved course director.
In addition, you will need current American Heart Association "Healthcare Provider" CPR certification or American Red Cross "Basic Life Support for the Professional Rescuer” CPR certification.
Criminal Background Checks
Each applicant will undergo a Law Enforcement Data System criminal history check. If you have lived, worked, or attended school outside of the State of Oregon for 60 or more consecutive days within the past five years, then a completed fingerprint card must be submitted with your application with an additional $44.50. Fingerprint cards may be obtained by calling OHA-EMS at 971-673-0520.
The personal history section of the application asks a series of nine personal history questions. If you answer 'yes’ to any question, you must submit a detailed written explanation. Your application will be followed up by a Prehospital Standards Representative.
It is important that you answer these questions honestly. Answering 'yes’ to a question does not automatically disqualify you from being approved for licensure. If you have any questions regarding your personal or criminal history, you may call our Prehospital Standards Unit at 971-673-0520.
Back to top
Emergency Medical Responder initial applications are NOT available online. You must call OHA-EMS for the most updated, scantron application for licensure. The applications should be distributed by your course director. The current initial application fee is $45.00.
Back to top
- Emergency Medical Responder Personal Identification Numbers (PINs) will be mailed out to each licensed Oregon EMR beginning mid-March 2014.
- The license renewal fee is $23.00.
- The deadline for completing your online license renewal application is May 1, 2014.
This will ensure that you avoid a late fee and you receive your new license in a timely manner.
- Each license renewal applicant will undergo a Law Enforcement Data Systems criminal history check. If you have lived, worked, or attended school outside of the State of Oregon for 60 or more consecutive days within the past five years, or since last licensed in Oregon, then a completed fingerprint card must be submitted with an additional $44.50 so that OHA can conduct a nation-wide criminal history check.
- If you have moved since you were last licensed and need to update your address with the EMS office, you may do so in the online license renewal process.
For more details on license renewal, continuing education requirements, and other information, please read our Frequently Asked Questions.
Fingerprint Information for License Renewal Applicants
If you have lived, worked, or attended school for 60 or more consecutive days outside Oregon in the last five years, OHA requires a fingerprint based criminal history check, in accordance with ORS 181.537(2) and (3). This includes license renewal applicants who have lived (or currently live), worked, or attended school outside Oregon for 60 or more consecutive days since their last license was issued.*
If you require fingerprints, you should contact your local law enforcement agency for available fingerprinting services.
- Fingerprints must be completed by an official fingerprint technician. Please make sure the prints are clear and there are no smudges or the Oregon State Police Identification Services Section will most likely reject and return your prints.
- The fee for processing your fingerprint card is $44.50. The check or money order should be made out to OHA-EMS. This fee is non-refundable.
- Please submit your payment and fingerprint card before the May 1, 2014 deadline to:
P.O. Box 14450
Portland, OR 97293
If you complete your online application by May 1, but do not submit your fingerprints and processing fee on time, your application will be considered incomplete and a $40.00 late fee will be assessed.
- Fingerprint-based criminal history checks usually take seven to ten business days to process. However, due to the high volume of license renewal applicants, the process may take longer. If there are any discrepancies with your background, a Prehospital Standards Representative will contact you for more information.
- If you need a fingerprint card or have any questions, please feel free to contact the EMS Office at 971-673-0520.
*Note: If you work or attend school outside the state of Oregon and return home each night to Oregon, this is considered commuting and you do not have to submit fingerprints.