A to Z
Data &
Forms &
News &
Licensing &
Rules &
Public Health
Transition to New EMS Education Standards

In January 2012, the Oregon Administrative Rules 333-265-0110 (OARs) adopted the national EMS provider levels and educational standards, which raised the baseline knowledge level for all initial EMS provider courses in Oregon. Continuing education requirements were modified temporarily in order to transition current EMS providers to the new education standards. The transition for currently licensed Oregon EMS providers will occur for only one licensure cycle. The total hours required for each continuing education category will not change.


​​Other Oregon licensed EMS providers
  • For EMT, EMT-Intermediate, Advanced EMT and Paramedic, the transition is occurred during the 2013-2015 licensure cycle.
  • Appendix 1,2 and 3 (pdf) must be followed for this licensure period.


Completion of these additional requirements will constitute the completion of the transition in Oregon. At the conclusion of the transition, the continuing medical education (CME) requirements will return to the subjects outlined in Appendix 1 (pdf).

Licensees who plan to maintain a National Registry certification need to submit proof to National Registry that they have successfully completed a “state approved” transition course. Oregon will issue a statement of completion in the licenses of Oregon EMS providers who complete license renewal in 2014 (EMR) and 2015 (all other levels). Oregon will not issue separate course approval or letters of completion.

During the Oregon transition, Oregon accepted a current NREMT certificate as a substitute for the continuing education and transition requirements if the letter that precedes their number was R (EMR), E (EMT), A (AEMT) or M (Paramedic). Having these new letters identifies a person as having met the new education standards. If you are an Intermediate, then you are still required to complete all of Appendix 3. If your NREMT certificate has a B or P preceding the number, then you are required to do 100% of the transition subjects from Appendix 3 (Classes that start with “Must include a minimum of….”). Office policy POL-301 approves the continuing education and applies to the OAR 333-365-0110(2)(b).​

Transition dates and processes for NREMT-certified EMS providers vary according to the level of EMS provider and are outlined on the NREMT website at:

Transition Documents