The EMS section licenses Emergency Medical Responders (EMR), Emergency Medical Technicians (EMT), Advanced EMT (AEMT), EMT-Intermediate (EMT-I) and Paramedics in the state of Oregon.
In order to be licensed, a person must: be at least 18 years of age, be physically and mentally qualified to perform the duties of an EMS Provider, be free from addiction to controlled substances or alcoholic beverages, or currently rehabilitated, and be free from epilepsy or diabetes or, if not free, has been free from any lapses of consciousness for a period of a least 180 days.
Note: The online License Renewal site has a high security level and is assured to be completely safe. If you get an error message or security warning when you try to log in, click ‘yes’ for Internet Explorer, ‘proceed anyway’ for Google Chrome, or ‘I understand the risks’ followed by ‘add exception’ for Firefox. (See sample error messages for Google Chrome, Internet Explorer or Firefox).
On this page:
Scope of Practice
The Oregon Medical Board is responsible for the scope of practice of Emergency Medical Service Providers as well as the requirements and duties of these providers supervising physicians (EMS Medical Directors).
View the Scope of Practice - OAR 847-035-0030
Review the difference of national versus Oregon Scope of Practice.
Criminal Background Checks
Each applicant will undergo a Law Enforcement Data System criminal history check.
- If you have lived, worked, or attended school outside of the State of Oregon for 60 or more consecutive days within the past five years, then a completed fingerprint card must be submitted with your application with an additional $44.50.
- The personal history section of the application asks a series of nine personal history questions. If you answer 'yes’ to any question, you must submit a detailed written explanation. Your application will be followed up by a Prehospital Standards Representative.
- It is important that you answer these questions honestly. Answering 'yes’ to a question does not automatically disqualify you from being approved for licensure. If you have any questions regarding your personal or criminal history, you may call our Prehospital Standards Unit at 971-673-0520.
Fingerprint Information for License Renewal Applicants
If you have lived, worked, or attended school for 60 or more consecutive days outside Oregon in the last five years, OHA requires a fingerprint based criminal history check. This includes license renewal applicants who have lived (or currently live), worked, or attended school outside Oregon for 60 or more consecutive days since their last license was issued.
Emergency Medical Responder (EMR) Licensure and Renewal
To become an Oregon licensed Emergency Medical Responder (formerly known as "First Responder"), you must successfully complete a state-approved U.S. DOT Emergency Medical Responder course instructed by a state-approved course director.
In addition, you will need current American Heart Association "Healthcare Provider" CPR certification or American Red Cross "Basic Life Support for the Professional Rescuer” CPR certification.
EMR Initial License Application
Emergency Medical Responder initial applications are NOT available online. You must call OHA-EMS for the most updated, scantron application for licensure. The applications should be distributed by your course director. The current initial application fee is $45.00.
EMR License Renewal
- Emergency Medical Responder Personal Identification Numbers (PINs) will be mailed out to each licensed Oregon EMR beginning mid-March 2016.
- The license renewal fee is $23.00.
- The deadline for completing your online license renewal application is May 1, 2016.
This will ensure that you avoid a late fee and you receive your new license in a timely manner.
- Each license renewal applicant will undergo a Law Enforcement Data Systems criminal history check. If you have lived, worked, or attended school outside of the State of Oregon for 60 or more consecutive days within the past five years, or since last licensed in Oregon, then a completed fingerprint card must be submitted with an additional $44.50 so that OHA can conduct a nation-wide criminal history check.
- If you have moved since you were last licensed and need to update your address with the EMS office, you may do so in the online license renewal process.
Active Military Personnel License Renewal
If an emergency medical service provider has been on active military duty for more than six months of a renewal period which prevented them from accessing continuing education, OHA may approve an extension of the current license to permit obtaining the required educational hours.
Oregon may award an emergency medical services provider license through reciprocity to an individual who has a current National Registry Certification and meets the requirements for licensure in Oregon per ORS 682 and OAR 333-265.
An individual applying for reciprocity in the State of Oregon at the level of EMT, AEMT or Paramedic will need to order a reciprocity packet.
Complete the Reciprocity/Provisional Packet Request form then submit the completed application packet.