
Death with Dignity Act Requirements 
 
 
 

The Death with Dignity Act (DWDA) allows terminally ill Oregon residents to obtain 

and use prescriptions from their physicians for self-administered, lethal medications. 

Under the Act, ending one's life in accordance with the law does not constitute 

suicide. The DWDA specifically prohibits euthanasia, where a physician or other 

person directly administers a medication to end another's life. 

 

To request a prescription for lethal medications, the DWDA requires that a patient 

must be: 

 
• An adult (18 years of age or older), 

 

• A resident of Oregon, 
 

• Capable (defined as able to make and communicate health care decisions), and 
 

• Diagnosed with a terminal illness that will lead to death within six months. 
 

Patients meeting these requirements are eligible to request a prescription for lethal 

medication from a licensed Oregon physician. To receive a prescription for lethal 

medication, the following steps must be fulfilled: 

 
• The patient must make two oral requests to his or her physician, separated by at 

least 15 days. 

• The patient must provide a written request to his or her physician, signed in the 

presence of two witnesses. 

• The prescribing physician and a consulting physician must confirm the diagnosis 

and prognosis. 

• The prescribing physician and a consulting physician must determine whether 

the patient is capable. 

• If either physician believes the patient's judgment is impaired by a psychiatric or 

psychological disorder, the patient must be referred for a psychological 

examination. 



• The prescribing physician must inform the patient of feasible alternatives to 

DWDA, including comfort care, hospice care, and pain control. 

• The prescribing physician must request, but may not require, the patient to notify 

his or her next-of-kin of the prescription request. 

 

To comply with the law, physicians must report to the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) all 

prescriptions for lethal medications. Reporting is not required if patients begin the 

request process but never receive a prescription. In 1999, the Oregon legislature added 

a requirement that pharmacists must be informed of the prescribed medication's 

intended use. Physicians and patients who adhere to the requirements of the Act are 

protected from criminal prosecution, and the choice of DWDA cannot affect the status of 

a patient's health or life insurance policies. Physicians, pharmacists, and health care 

systems are under no obligation to participate in the DWDA. 

 

Reporting requirements 

Within 7 calendar days of writing 
prescription: 

Patient’s written request for medication/consent form 
Attending physician compliance form 
Consulting physician compliance form 
Psychiatric/Psychological consultant compliance form (if applicable) 
 

Within 10 calendar days of the 
pharmacy dispensing the lethal 
medications: 
 

Pharmacy dispensing record form 

Within 10 calendar days of the 
patient’s death and/or ingestion 
of lethal medications: 
 

Attending physician’s follow‐up form 

 

The Oregon Revised Statutes specify that action taken in accordance with the 

DWDA does not constitute suicide, mercy killing or homicide under the law. 

 
Links to statutes can be found at 
https://public.health.oregon.gov/ProviderPartnerResources/EvaluationResearch/Deathwit
hDignityAct/Pages/ors.aspx. 


