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SINCE THE IMPLEMENTATION date
of October 27, 1997, physician-
assisted suicide (PAS) has been a

legal medical option for terminally-ill
patients in Oregon under the terms of the
Death with Dignity Act.1 The law specif-
ically requires the Health Division to
collect information on the patients and
physicians who take action under the
law, monitor compliance with proce-
dures spelled out in the statute and sup-
porting rules, and publish an annual
statistical report. The first such official
report was recently released,* and a
paper reviewing the available data was
published last month in a Boston medi-
cal journal.2 This issue of the CD Sum-
mary presents a Cliff Notes version of
these reports, focusing on who received
prescriptions, who took the lethal medi-
cations, and what influenced those deci-
sions.
DIGNITY ACT REQUIREMENTS

To obtain a prescription for lethal
medications in Oregon, a requesting
patient must be an adult, at least 18 years
old, and a resident of Oregon (specific
residency requirements are not defined
in the current law). The Act requires that
the patient be “capable” (defined as
being able to make and communicate
healthcare decisions). The patient must
have a terminal illness with less than 6
months to live, and the request for a
lethal prescription must be voluntary.

A patient who meets these require-
ments must make one written and two
verbal requests to his or her physician.
The verbal requests must be separated by
at least 15 days. The prescribing physi-
cian and a consultant physician are
required to confirm the terminal diagno-
sis and prognosis, determine that the
patient is capable and acting voluntarily,
and refer the patient for counseling if
either believes that the patient’s judge-
ment is impaired by a psychiatric or
psychological disorder. The prescribing

physician must also inform the patient of
feasible alternatives such as comfort care,
hospice care, and pain control options.
Patients and physicians who adhere to the
requirements of the Act are protected
from criminal prosecution. The law spe-
cifically prohibits euthanasia (i.e., the
physician cannot directly administer the
lethal medications).
OHD’S ROLE

To fulfill its mandate, the Health Divi-
sion enacted reporting rules and created
reporting forms.† To be in legal compli-
ance, physicians are required to report the
writing of all prescriptions for lethal
medications by either completing a set of
forms (available from the OHD website)
or providing copies of relevant portions
of the patient’s chart.3 We compiled data
from these physician prescription reports
and from patient death certificates. To
learn more about patients who participat-
ed in the Death with Dignity Act during
the first year of legalized PAS, we also
collected information by conducting in-
depth interviews with each prescribing
physician after receipt of their patient’s
death certificate. Each physician was first
asked if their patient took the lethal medi-
cations and was then asked a series of
questions about their patient’s underlying
illness, insurance status, and end-of-life
care and concerns. Because of privacy
concerns, we did not interview patients,
their families, or other physicians who
may have provided end-of-life care.

Because of the highly charged debates
surrounding this issue, we believed it was
important to provide more than just a
descriptive characterization of the Death
with Dignity participants. To this end, we
performed two studies comparing termi-
nally ill Oregonians who chose PAS and
took their lethal medications, with Orego-
nians who died from similar terminal
illnesses but who did not participate in
the Death with Dignity Act. The compari-
son studies had two goals. The first was

to better understand where PAS partici-
pants fit within the spectrum of all termi-
nally-ill patients in Oregon. The second
was to try and address some of the ques-
tions and concerns surrounding this issue.
Who would choose PAS and why? Would
PAS be disproportionately chosen by
patients who were poor, less educated,
uninsured, fearful of financial ruin, or
lacking in access to end-of-life care or
proper pain control?
WHY WE ASKED WHAT WE ASKED

In constructing our reporting system
and comparison studies, we struggled with
what specific questions and issues to ad-
dress. The choice of PAS may potentially
be influenced by moral, ethical, medical,
or financial factors. We chose to focus on
issues that government and public health
might influence such as access to hospice
care, palliative pain control, lack of insur-
ance, or financial fears. We did not specif-
ically examine the influence of moral,
ethical, or religious views of the choice of
PAS.
WHAT HAPPENED IN 1998?

Details of the methods and results are
available in both of the published re-
ports.1,2 Here are some of the key findings.

The Health Division received informa-
tion on 23 persons who received prescrip-
tions for lethal medications under the
Death with Dignity Act in 1998 (no pre-
scriptions were written under the Act in
1997). Of these 23 prescription recipients,
15 chose PAS and died after taking their
lethal medications, 6 died from their un-
derlying illnesses, and 2 were alive as of
January 1, 1999. The 15 persons who
chose PAS accounted for 5 of every
10,000 deaths in Oregon in 1998.

Patients who chose PAS were compara-
ble to all Oregonians who died of similar
underlying illnesses with respect to age,
race, sex, and Portland residence. Patients
who chose PAS were not disproportionate-
ly poor (as measured by Medicaid status),
less educated, lacking in insurance cover-
age, lacking in access to hospice care,

A YEAR OF DIGNIFIED DEATH

†Hey, we’re the government, it’s what we do.*see www.ohd.hr.state.or.us/cdpe/chs/pas/pas.htm
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fearful of intractable end of life pain, or
concerned about the financial impact of
their illnesses. Rather, the choice of PAS
was most strongly associated with con-
cerns about loss of autonomy and loss of
control of bodily functions.

In 1998, many physicians in Oregon
were unable or unwilling to participate in
PAS. The physicians who did participate,
by writing lethal prescriptions for patients
who chose PAS, represented a wide
range of specialties, ages, and years in
practice.

STUDY LIMITATIONS
There are several limitations that

should be kept in mind when consider-
ing these findings. First, the small num-
ber of patients who chose PAS in 1998
limits our ability to detect smaller differ-
ences in the characteristics of patients
who chose PAS and those who did not.
Second, the possibility of physician
recall bias must be considered. Because
of the unique nature and requirements of
the Death with Dignity Act, prescribing
physicians may have recalled their con-
versations with requesting patients in
greater detail than physicians for patients
in the comparison group. For that matter,
the entire account could have been a
cock-and-bull story. We assume, howev-
er, that physicians were their usual care-
ful and accurate selves. Finally, the
Health Division has no formal enforce-
ment role; however, we are required to
report any noncompliance with the law
to the Oregon Board of Medical Exam-
iners for further investigation.4,5 Because
of this obligation, we cannot detect or
accurately comment on issues that may
be under reported.

NEUTRALITY AND CONFIDENTIALITY
The Health Division’s goal is to be the

Switzerland of this debate. Maintaining
neutrality and protecting the confidentiali-
ty of the patients and physicians who
participate in the Death with Dignity Act
are paramount if this reporting system,
and the resulting data, are to remain legit-
imate. The goals of our report do not
include taking sides. Rather, we are
charged with collecting data and have
tried to present these data objectively and
within the context of some of the ongoing
debates.
DON’T FORGET US

Again, we remind all our physician
readers that prescriptions written under
the Death with Dignity Act must be re-
ported. Not only is it the law, it is the only
mechanism which offers you protection
from criminal prosecution and offers your
patient protection from insurance compa-
nies who may wish to deny benefits be-
cause of PAS. We are charged with
monitoring compliance but we are not
here to be intimately involved in the
interactions between you and your pa-
tients or in the decision processes that
may lead to the writing of a lethal pre-
scription. Our surveillance is ongoing and
your participation (and your patient’s) is
held in the strictest confidence. The Death
with Dignity Act, reporting rules, report-
ing forms, and 1998 report can be found
at the Health Division’s web site (vide
recto), or can be ordered by contacting us
at 503/731-4024.
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Timing of Hepatitis B Shots

WE CONTINUE to field calls from
practitioners who are uncer-
tain about the optimum sched-

uling of hepatitis B immunizations, partic-
ularly for the third dose. This is increas-
ingly an issue because of current school
entry requirements. The following is not a
revision—just a restatement.
•  Dose 1 can be given at any age, includ-

ing (indeed, preferably) on day 1  (the
patient’s, that is).

•  Dose 2 can be given as soon as 1
month has elapsed since dose 1.

•  Dose 3 can be given as soon as 2
months have elapsed since dose 2 and 4
months have elapsed since dose 1, with
the caveat that infants should not get
dose 3 until they are at least 6 months
old. This schedule is appropriate for all
ages, including Enlightenment and
Bronze.
In summary, minimum dose spacing is

very important, but there are no maxima.
Delayed doses may result in decreased
compliance (birds in the hand...), social
disruption (e.g., school exclusion), and
decreased protection (both from delayed
benefit and, for older patients, a decreased
“take” rate). The series never has to be
restarted, even if it has been years since
the last dose. It’s the beauty of immuno-
logical memory.


