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STATE OF OREGON
DEPARTMENT OF ITUMAN SERVICES Ref File: 972549
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) FINAL ORDER
The Face & Body Place, : )
Tanning Facility ‘ )

) Agency Case No. RPS 2009-T2549 CP

Kristine Johnson
221 S Main Street, Ste 3
Pendleton, OR 97801 | |

On November 23, 2009, the Oregon Department of Human Services, Public Health Division,
Office of Environmental Public Health, Radiation Protection Services (RPS) issued a Notice of
Violation and Proposed Imposition of Civil Penalty pursuant to Oregon Revised Statute ORS
431.950; Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) 333-119-0020, 333-103-0025, and 333-119-0140,
proposing to impose a civil penalty against The Face & Body Place in the amount of $400 for
violations of Oregon Administrative Rules (OARs) listed in the Notice. The Notice offered
Kristine Johnson, the owner of The Face & Body Place, an opportunity for hearing, if requested
within 20 days of service of the Notice. The Notice designated the relevant portions of RPS' file
on this matter, including all materials submitted by Ms. Johnson, as the record for purposes of
default. Ms. Johnson did not request a hearing,

NOW THEREFORE, after considering the relevant portions of RPS' file relating to this matter,
RPS enters the following Order.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Fac.é & Body Place consist of tanning facilities at, 221 S Main Street, Ste 3,
Pendleton, and has a total of 4 tanning devices.

2. . OnJanuary 1, 2009, The Face & Body Place was required to pay to RPS a $100
registration fee per tanning device, for a total of $400 in registration fees. OAR
333-119-0020; 333-103-0025.
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3. Ms. Johnson was sent, to her address of record, three RPS payment notices and one
certified letter regarding unpaid registration fees. In addition, the Department of
Justice (DOJ) sent Ms. Johnson a letter advising her of potential civil penalties for
failure to pay the outstanding registration fees within 10 days of the dated DOJ
letter.

4. To date, RPS has not received any registration fees.

ULTIMATE FINDINGS OF FACT
The Face & Body Place has not paid its 2009 registration fees.

CONCLUSION OF LAW _
The Face & Body Place violated OAR 333-103-0025 by failing to pay its 2009 registration fees.

ORDER

1. As authorized by ORS 431.950, The Face & Body Place shall pay a civil penalty of $400,
calculated as follows:

Violation(s) of OAR 333-103-0025: $100 x 4 tanning device(s) = $400

- 2. In addition to paying a civil penalty, The Face & Body Place shall pay the 2009
registration fees of $400.

3. Failure to comply with this Order may subject The Face & Body Place, to further civil
penalties.

Office of Environmental ‘- Health
Public Health Division

Date of Service:

Notice: Civil Penalty amounts are established in ORS 431.950. Civil penalties are due and
payable 10 days after the date of this Order. If unpaid, civil penalties may be recorded and filed
with county clerks as liens against property 10 days afier the expiration of the statutory appeals
period. If you have any questions about payment or wish to make payment arrangements, please
call David M. Howe at 971-673-0505 and make checks payable to: “DHS-Radiation Protection
Services” and send to Radiation Protection Services, 800 NE Oregon St., Ste 640, Portland, OR
97232. _

Appeal Rights: You are entitled to judicial review of this order in accordance with ORS 183.482.
You may request judicial review by filing a petition with the Court of Appeals in Salem, Oregon
within 60 days from the date of this order.

Copy to: Shannon O’Fallon, Senior Assistant Attorney General, Oregon Depértment of Justice
David M. Howe, M.A., Field Operations Manager, Radiation Protection Services




