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On July 13, 2011, the Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division, Office of Environmental
Public Health, Radiation Protection Services (RPS) issued a Notice of Violation and Proposed
Imposition of Civil Penalty pursuant to Oregon Revised Statute ORS 431.950; Oregon
Administrative Rules (OAR) 333-103-0025, 333-119-0020, 333-119-0140, and 333-124-0010
proposing to impose a civil penalty against Sun Shack Tanning & Fitness in the amount of $720 for
violations of OAR listed in the Notice. The Notice offered Jennifer Kent, the owner of Sun Shack
Tanning & Fitness, an opportunity for hearing if requested within 20 days of service of the Notice.
The Notice designated the relevant portions of RPS file on this matter, including all materials
submitted by Ms. Jennifer Kent, as the record for purposes of default. Ms. Jennifer Kent did not
request a hearing.

NOW THEREFORE, after considering the relevant portions of RPS file relating to this matter, RPS
enters the following Order.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Sun Shack Tanning & Fitness consists of tanning facility at 391 NE Main Street, Willamina,
and has a total of 3 tanning devices.

2. On January 1, 2011, Sun Shack Tanning & Fitness was required to pay to RPS a $100

registration fee per tanning device, for a total of $300 in registration fees. OAR 333-119-
0020; 333-103-0025.
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3. Ms. Jennifer Kent was sent, to her address of record, two payment notices regarding unpaid
registration fees. In addition, the Department of Justice (DOJ) sent Ms. Jennifer Kent a
letter advising her of potential civil penalties for failure to pay the outstanding registration
fees within 10 days of the dated DOJ letter.

4. To date, RPS has not received any registration fees.

ULTIMATE FINDINGS OF FACT
Sun Shack Tanning & Fitness has not paid its 2011 registration fees.

CONCLUSION OF LAW

Sun Shack Tanning & Fitness violated OAR 333-103-0025 by failing to pay its 2011
registration fees.

ORDER

1. As authorized by ORS 431.950, Sun Shack Tanning & Fitness shall pay a civil penalty of
$720, calculated as follows for violations of OAR 333-103-0025:

3 devices x $100 registration fees = $300

Start Date End Date Fees A
April 4, 2011 May 4, 2011 $300 3% =99 x 30 Days $270
May 5, 2011 June 5, 2011 $300 5% = $15 x 30Days $450
Proposed Civil Penalty Amount: $720
2. In addition to paying a civil penalty, Sun Shack Tanning & Fitness shall pay the 2011
registration fees of $300.
3. Failure to comply with this Order may subject Sun Shack Tanning & Fitness to further civil
penalties.
\u.,
DATED this day of SLEATVSVIZ L 2011.

) /AL

Gail R. Shibley, J.D., Administrator
Office of Enwronmental Public Health
Public Health Division

Date of Service: &éﬁézﬁ é! 2042
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Notice: Civil Penalty amounts are established in ORS 431.950. Civil penalties are due and
payable 10 days after the date of this Order. If unpaid, civil penalties may be recorded and filed
with county clerks as liens against property 10 days after the expiration of the statutory appeals
period and sent to the Department of Revenue or a private collection firm for further collection
efforts. If you have any questions about payment or wish to make payment arrangements, please
call Todd S. Carpenter at 971-673-0500 and make checks payable to: “OHA-Radiation Protection
Services” and send to Radiation Protection Services, 800 NE Oregon St., Suite 640, Portland, OR

97232. -

Appeal Rights: You are entitled to judicial review of this order in accordance with ORS 183.482.
You may request judicial review by filing a petition with the Court of Appeals in Salem, Oregon
within 60 days from the date of this order.

Copy to: Shannon O’Fallon, Senior Assistant Attorney General, Oregon Department of Justice
Todd S. Carpenter, Licensing & Preparedness Manager, Radiation Protection Services
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