PUBLIC HEALTH DIVISION
Radiation Protection Services

John A. Kitzhaber, MD, Governor

800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 640
Portland, OR 97232

Voice 971-673-0490

FAX 971-673-0553

TTY 971-673-0372

STATE OF OREGON
OREGON HEALTH AUTHORITY
Ref File: 972367
IN THE MATTER OF: )
) FINAL ORDER
Sun Shack Tanning & Fitness, )
Tanning Facility )

) Agency Case No. RPS 2013-T2367 CP

Jennifer Kent
P.O. Box 1150
Willamina, OR 97396

On March 18, 2013, the Oregon Health Authority, Center for Health Protection, Radiation
Protection Services (RPS) issued a Notice of Violation and Proposed Imposition of Civil
Penalty pursuant to Oregon Revised Statute ORS 431.950; Oregon Administrative Rules
(OAR)333-103-0025, 333-119-0020, 333-119-0140, and 333-124-0010 proposing to impose
a civil penalty against Sun Shack Tanning & Fitness in the amount of $819 for violations
of Oregon Administrative Rules (OARs) listed in the Notice. The Notice offered Jennifer
Kent, the owner of Sun Shack Tanning & Fitness, an opportunity for a hearing, if requested
within 20 days of service of the Notice. The Notice designated the relevant portions of RPS'
file on this matter, including all materials submitted by Jennifer Kent, as the record for
purposes of default. Jennifer Kent did not request a hearing.

NOW THEREFORE, after considering the relevant portions of RPS' file relating to this
matter, RPS enters the following Order.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Sun Shack Tanning & Fitness consists of a tanning facility at 391 NE Main Street,
Willamina, and has a total of 3 tanning device(s).
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2. OnJanuary 1, 2013, Sun Shack Tanning & Fitness was required to pay to RPS a $100
registration fee per tanning device, for a total of $300 in registration fees. OAR 333-
119-0020; and 333-103-0025.

3. Ms Jennifer Kent was sent, to her address of record, two payment notices regarding
unpaid registration fees and on March 18, 2013 an Enforcement Bulletin advised her
of potential civil penalties for failure to pay the outstanding registration fees within 10
days of the dated Enforcement Bulletin.
4. To date, RPS has not received any registration fees.
ULTIMATE FINDINGS OF FACT
Sun Shack Tanning & Fitness has not paid its 2013 registration fees.

CONCLUSION OF LAW

Sun Shack Tanning & Fitness violated OAR 333-103-0025 by failing to pay its 2013
registration fees.

ORDER

As authorized by ORS 431.950, Sun Shack Tanning & Fitness shall pay a civil penalty of
$819, calculated as follows for violations of OAR 333-103-0025 & OAR 333-142-0010(8):

3 devices x $100 registration fees = $300

Start Date End Date Fees Total

Jan. 10, 2013 Feb. 10,2013  $300 3% $9 x 31 Days $279
Feb. 11, 2013 Mar. 12,2013 $300 5%  $15 x 30 Days $450
Mar. 13,2013 Mar. 15,2013  $300 10%  $30 x 3 Days $90
Proposed Civil Penalty Amount: $819

In addition to paying a civil penalty, Sun Shack Tanning & Fitness shall pay the 2013
registration fees of $300.

1. Failure to comply with this Order may subject Sun Shack Tanning & Fitness to
further civil penalties.
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DATED this & day of r—nt , 2013

A 120

Dave Leland
Interim Administrator, Center for Health Protection
Public Health Division

Oregon Health Authority

Date of Mailing: ‘%/4/&/ Z L0/3

Notice: Civil Penalty amounts are established in ORS 431.950. Civil penalties are due and
payable 10 days after the date of this Order. If unpaid, civil penalties may be recorded and
filed with county clerks as liens against property 10 days after the expiration of the statutory
appeals period and sent to the Department of Revenue or a private collection firm for further
collection efforts. If you have any questions about payment or wish to make payment
arrangements, please call Todd S. Carpenter at 971-673-0500.

Make check payable to:
Oregon Health Authority
ATTN: Radiation Protection Services
800 NE Oregon St., Suite 640
Portland, OR 97232

Appeal Rights: You are entitled to judicial review of this order in accordance with ORS
183.482. You may request judicial review by filing a petition with the Court of Appeals in
Salem, Oregon within 60 days from the date of this order.

Copy to: Shannon O’Fallon, Senior Assistant Attorney General

Oregon Department of Justice
Todd S. Carpenter, RPS Licensing & Preparedness Manager
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