A to Z
Data &
Forms &
News &
Licensing &
Rules &
Public Health
Radiation Advisory Committee

About the RAC

The Radiation Advisory Committee (RAC) was established pursuant to ORS 453.645. The mission and duty of the RAC is to advise Oregon Health Authority on matters relating to radiological health and radiation protection, including reviewing current and proposed Radiation Protection Services (RPS) administrative rules.
There are eight committee members who, because of their training and experience, are qualified to advise the department on radiological health and radiation protection. The RAC holds at least two public meetings a year. Previous meeting notifications, agendas, and minutes can be found on the meeting archive page.

The 2016 RAC meetings are scheduled for: 
February 10, 2016
June 8, 2016
October 12, 2016


The meeting notification & agenda will be posted when they become available. Copies of previous meeting notifications, agendas, and minutes can be found on the Meeting Archive page.

RAC Members

Effective January 1, 2015 Members Include:
  • Board Chair:  Steve Reese, Ph.D., Oregon State University
  • Vice Chair:  Fred Bremner, D.M.D.
  • Barbara Smith, M.S., RT(R)(QM), Portland Community College
  • Donna Stevens, M.S., Kaiser Permanente
  • Janet Franco, CNMT, M.S., OHSU
  • Juliana Cyman D.V.M.
  • Rick Waldenburg, SunsUp Tanning
  • Scott Young, Oregon Department of Transportation


Radiation Protection Services Management

  • David Howe, M.S., Section Manager
  • Rick Wendt, Operations and Emergency Response Manager
  • Todd Carpenter, Administration and Licensing Manager