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The following is guidance for properly responding to the most common citations found during a 
Tanning Inspection. You must respond in writing to each item marked as a citation on the 
Inspection Finding Report. Please ensure that the corrective action(s) are completed by the date 
you submit your response.   
 
If you have items that are out of compliance and you do not respond in writing with the corrective 
action taken within the stated time frame you will be subject to civil penalty in the amount(s) noted 
on the Inspection Finding Report.   

 
RESPONSE DUE IN 10 CALENDAR DAYS FOR THE FOLLOWING CITATIONS: 

 
 REGISTRATION OF TANNING DEVICE:  Fill out the tanning registration form.  Mail the 

following to 800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 640, Portland, OR 97232:  
 the completed tanning registration form  
 payment for the tanning device(s) ($100 for each device) 
 Contact Sharon Ross sharon.e.ross@state.or.us with questions concerning 

registration at (971) 673-0509. 
 

 SEND COPIES OF TRAINING CERTIFICATES:  Tanning operators will need to complete 
training within 10 days of the inspection date.  Copies of training certificates or proof of 
training completion for ALL tanning operators need to be mailed, faxed or emailed and 
received by RPS to complete your response. Note: All operators of registered tanning 
devices must successfully complete an approved tanning training course in the State of 
Oregon prior to commencement of tanning operations. 

 
 

RESPONSE DUE IN 30 CALENDAR DAYS FOR THE FOLLOWING CITATIONS: 
 

 LAMP EQUIVALENCY CHARTS:  A lamp equivalency chart proves that the lamps 
required by the tanning device manufacturer are equivalent to the lamps that are currently 
in your tanning bed.  Send a copy of each lamp equivalency chart that was missing with 
your written response.  Double check your lamp equivalency chart to make sure it is correct 
and that you have the correct lamps in your tanning device.  If you are missing a lamp 
equivalency chart, contact your lamp supplier for a copy or go online and find it yourself.  
Note: Lamp equivalency charts are often mailed with the lamps. All beds list the required 
lamps on the sticker that lists warnings and exposure requirements; this information is also 
listed in your bed manual. If the lamps you have installed are, in fact, not equivalent to the 
lamps that are required you will need to replace the lamps with equivalent lamps.  

 
 
 
 



 

 

 TIMER TESTS:  Complete a timer test for each tanning device and record on the Timer 
Test Record. Send a copy of the timer test as apart of your response.  Note: Use a stop 
watch to complete a timer test. Turn the stop watch on when the tanning device starts, and 
stop the stop watch when the tanning device turns off. Compare the time on the stop watch 
with the amount of time you set the device for. Both numbers need to be recorded (use 
minutes and seconds) on the Timer Test Record. Corrective action is required if the timer is 
off 10 %.      

 
 SKIN TYPING:  If you have not been skin typing your clients, you must start skin typing 

your clients at this time by using the Skin Type Chart (provided at the time of the inspection 
or available online).  Explain on your response that you are now properly skin typing your 
clients.   

 
 TANNING DEVICE MANUALS:  Send a copy of the FRONT PAGE ONLY of each tanning 

manual that was missing during the inspection. Note: If you are sending multiple manual 
covers, write the room number on the top of the page and the RADT number (yellow State 
of Oregon sticker on the tanning device).   
  

 COMMUNICATE WITH YOUR INSPECTOR:  If you are having trouble fixing any of the 
violations or your response will be delayed, contact your inspector by phone or e-mail to let 
them know why and when the violation will be corrected. Communication is very important!  
 

 SEND RECEIPTS:  If a violation requires you to purchase an item (examples: acrylic, test 
strips, pillows, device exposure schedules, etc) send a copy of the receipt(s) with your 
written response to document that you have purchased the item(s).  
 

 EMAIL, FAX OR MAIL YOUR RESPONSE:  When emailing, faxing or mailing a response, 
clearly identify your facility name, location and the inspector that completed your inspection.  
This is to ensure that your response gets to the correct person.   
 
 

If you have additional questions regarding the inspection and how to respond, contact 
your inspector. Remember to respond in 10 days for Registration or Training violations, 
and 30 days for all other violations.   
 
Failure to respond appropriately to items of non-compliance will subject you to civil 
penalties. 
 
Mail your response to:  
 
Radiation Protection Services – Tanning Program 
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 640 
Portland, OR 97232-2162 
 
Fax your response to  
 971-673-0553 
 
Email your response to the inspector! 
 
Website: www.healthoregon.org/rps 
 



 

 

 


