The law passed by the 2013 Oregon Legislative Assembly directs RPS to revise Oregon Administrative Rules restricting minors from commercial tanning, which took effect January 1, 2014.
333-119-0010, 0090, and 0110*
*Please note, this document only contains the rule sections that were modified in the most recent rule change. The full copy of the OAR's are housed on the Secretary of State website; however, the new rules could take up to 2 months to be posted.
The new law is part of Oregon Revised Statutes 431.925 through 431.955 and Oregon Laws 2013, chapter 411, which states that "an entity doing business in this state as a tanning facility may not allow a person who is under 18 years of age to use a tanning device that is owned or operated by the entity".
The only exception to the new law is for minors who get a written recommendation from their doctor. That recommendation must be on the state form (see below). To allow RPS to verify that minors are not being allowed to tan, new client record requirements are in place.
Tanning clients who appear to be younger than 26 years of age are now required to provide proof of their date of birth (DOB) and tanning operators are required to document the type of ID and the ID number on the client record. The client record information can be either in the client database or on client cards (see below).
Because of the new ID requirements, existing active tanning clients who appear younger than 26 years of age must complete a new client card or provide the additional required ID information.