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109.610 Right to treatment for venereal disease wit hout parental consent. (1) 
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a minor who may have come into contact 
with any venereal disease may give consent to the furnishing of hospital, medical or 
surgical care related to the diagnosis or treatment of such disease, if the disease or 
condition is one which is required by law or regulation adopted pursuant to law to be 
reported to the local or state health officer or board. Such consent shall not be subject 
to disaffirmance because of minority. 

(2) The consent of the parent, parents, or legal guardian of such minor shall not be 
necessary to authorize such hospital, medical or surgical care and without having given 
consent the parent, parents, or legal guardian shall not be liable for payment for any 
such care rendered. [Formerly 109.105; 1977 c.303 §1] 

109.640 Right to medical or dental treatment withou t parental consent; physicians 
may provide birth control information to any person . Any physician may provide 
birth control information and services to any person without regard to the age of such 
person and a minor 15 years of age or older, may give consent to hospital care, medical 
or surgical diagnosis or treatment by a physician licensed by the Board of Medical 
Examiners for the State of Oregon, and dental or surgical diagnosis or treatment by a 
dentist licensed by the Oregon Board of Dentistry, without the consent of a parent or 
guardian, except as may be provided by ORS 109.660. [1971 c.381 §1] 

109.650 Disclosure without minor’s consent and with out liability.  A hospital or any 
physician or dentist as described in ORS 109.640 may advise the parent or parents or 
legal guardian of any such minor of such care, diagnosis or treatment or the need for 
any treatment, without the consent of the patient, and any such hospital, physician or 
dentist shall not be liable for advising such parent, parents or legal guardian without the 
consent of the patient. [1971 c.381 §2] 

109.675 Right to diagnosis or treatment for mental or emotional disorder or 
chemical dependency without parental consent.  (1) A minor 14 years of age or older 
may obtain, without parental knowledge or consent, outpatient diagnosis or treatment of 
a mental or emotional disorder or a chemical dependency, excluding methadone 
maintenance, by a physician licensed by the Board of Medical Examiners for the State 
of Oregon, a psychologist licensed by the State Board of Psychologist Examiners, a 
nurse practitioner registered by the Oregon State Board of Nursing, a clinical social 
worker licensed by the State Board of Clinical Social Workers or a community mental 
health and developmental disabilities program established and operated pursuant to 
ORS 430.620 when approved to do so by the Department of Human Services pursuant 
to rule. 

(2) However, the person providing treatment shall have the parents of the minor 
involved before the end of treatment unless the parents refuse or unless there are clear 



clinical indications to the contrary, which shall be documented in the treatment record. 
The provisions of this subsection do not apply to: 

(a) A minor who has been sexually abused by a parent; or 

(b) An emancipated minor, whether emancipated under the provisions of ORS 109.510 
and 109.520 or 419B.550 to 419B.558 or, for the purpose of this section only, 
emancipated by virtue of having lived apart from the parents or legal guardian while 
being self-sustaining for a period of 90 days prior to obtaining treatment as provided by 
this section. [1985 c.525 §1; 1989 c.721 §47; 1993 c.546 §137; 1997 c.249 §38] 

109.680 Disclosure without minor’s consent; civil i mmunity.  A physician, 
psychologist, nurse practitioner, licensed clinical social worker or community mental 
health and developmental disabilities program described in ORS 109.675 may advise 
the parent or parents or legal guardian of any minor described in ORS 109.675 of the 
diagnosis or treatment whenever the disclosure is clinically appropriate and will serve 
the best interests of the minor’s treatment because the minor’s condition has 
deteriorated or the risk of a suicide attempt has become such that inpatient treatment is 
necessary, or the minor’s condition requires detoxification in a residential or acute care 
facility. If such disclosure is made, the physician, psychologist, nurse practitioner, 
licensed clinical social worker or community mental health and developmental 
disabilities program shall not be subject to any civil liability for advising the parent, 
parents or legal guardian without the consent of the minor. [1985 c.525 §2; 1989 c.721 
§48] 

109.685 Person providing treatment or diagnosis not  subject to civil liability for 
providing treatment or diagnosis without consent of  parent or guardian.  A 
physician, psychologist, nurse practitioner, licensed clinical social worker or community 
mental health and developmental disabilities program described in ORS 109.675 who in 
good faith provides diagnosis or treatment to a minor as authorized by ORS 109.675 
shall not be subject to any civil liability for providing such diagnosis or treatment without 
consent of the parent or legal guardian of the minor. [1985 c.525 §3; 1989 c.721 §49] 


