
 
 
TO:  SOA Entities  
 
FROM: Laboratory Compliance Section 
 
RE:  Substance of Abuse (SOA) Registration 
 
The 1997 Oregon Legislature amended the substance of abuse (SOA) screening 
law, requiring entities performing SOA screening for non-medical purposes, by 
manual methods, to register with the Public Health Division of the Oregon Health 
Authority. Registration is for a period of one year, and expires on the 31st of 
December for the calendar year. 
 
Please complete the enclosed registration form if you or your employees desire to 
continue performing SOA screens.  Identify all locations at which testing occurs 
and list them on the Additional Testing Locations form (page 2 of your 
Registration form).  Please note that registered entities must meet the specific 
requirements as indicated on the registration form to be in compliance with the 
law.  In signing the registration form, the operator is certifying that the entity will 
comply with the law. 
 
The cost of registration is $50 per entity, per calendar year.  Submit payment with 
the registration form.  Failure to pay the appropriate fee invalidates your 
registration. 
 
Evidence of registration will be returned to you within a month of our receipt of 
your registration form and fee.  The registration certificate (or a copy) must be 
displayed at all locations where SOA screening is performed. 
 
Please note that the 1999 Oregon Legislature passed House Bill 3603 pertaining to 
SOA testing which has subsequently become law.  Three significant changes were 
made which impact all SOA entities: 
 
- The definition of a substance of abuse was amended to include ethanol and 
controlled substances except as legally prescribed by licensed practitioners. 
 
- SOA registered entities may now use saliva alcohol methods approved by the 
U.S. Department of Transportation as published in the Federal Register.   



- Employees may now obtain a copy of their employer requested SOA test 
results upon written request to the laboratory performing the test. 

 
- Please notify Laboratory Compliance Section (LCS) if you have 
discontinued, or wish to discontinue screening.  The form for notification of 
changes is sufficient for this purpose.  The law requires each entity to notify 
LCS within 30 days of changes in: testing status (new kit or method), additions 
or deletions of testing locations, and individual contacts at each location.  

 
You may contact us should you need this document in an alternate format at 
503-693-4100. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


