Topics
A to Z
Data &
 Statistics
Forms &
Publications
News &
Advisories
Licensing &
Certification
Rules &
Regulations
Public Health
Directory

Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention Section

Staff

Managers

Kirsten Aird, MPH
Chronic Disease Programs Manager
kirsten.g.aird@state.or.us 
971-673-1053

Karen Girard, MPA
Section Manager
karen.e.girard@state.or.us
971-673-1046

Luci Longoria, MPH
Health Promotion Manager
luci.longoria@state.or.us
971-673-1064

Program Staff

Todd Beran, MS
Heart Disease Stroke Prevention Program Coordinator / Interim Community Programs Lead
todd.beran@state.or.us
971-673-1063

Kerryann Bouska, B.A., CPS
Policy Specialist
kerryann.l.bouska@state.or.us
971-673-3183

Vicky Buelow, MA
Diabetes Program Research Analyst
victoria.h.buelow@state.or.us
971-673-0984

Tamara Burkovskaia
Arthritis Program Coordinator / Community Programs Liaison
tamara.v.burkovskaia@state.or.us
971-673-1085

Laura F. Chisholm, MPH, MCHES, RYT
Self-Management Programs Technical Lead
laura.f.chisholm@state.or.us
971-673-0987

LeeLa Coleman, CTR
Cancer Registry Data Consultant
leela.j.coleman@state.or.us
971-673-0986

Amanda C. Cue
Temporary Policy Specialist for Kim La Croix
amanda.c.cue@state.or.us
971-673-0606

Jennifer Diallo, M.Ed.
Workforce Capacity Coordinator
jennifer.l.diallo@state.or.us
971-673-1080

Andrew Epstein, MPH, CHES
Diabetes Program Coordinator / Community Programs Liaison
andrew.d.epstein@state.or.us
971-673-2379

Shannon Evangelista
Cancer Research Analyst
shannon.d.evangelista@state.or.us
971-673-0986

Rodney Garland-Forshee, MS
Asthma Epidemiologist
rodney.garland@state.or.us
971-673-0984

Heather Gramp, MPH
Policy Specialist
heather.gramp@state.or.us
971-673-0630

Sarah Hargand, MPH
Surveillance & Evaluation Lead
sarah.hargand@state.or.us
971-673-1022

Trisha L. Hays
HPCDP Management Administrative Specialist
trisha.l.hays@state.or.us
971-673-0995

Holly Heiberg
Health Promotion Specialist
holly.heiberg@state.or.us
971-673-2826

Julie A. Johnson, CPS
Tribal Prevention Coordinator
julie.a.johnson@state.or.us
971-673-0536

Kimberly La Croix, MPH, RD
Policy Specialist
kimberly.w.lacroix@state.or.us
971-673-0606

Jordana A. Leeb
Cancer Program Coordinator / Community Programs Liaison
jordana.a.leeb@state.or.us
971-673-1041

Pieter M. Leffers
Tobacco Research Analyst
pieter.m.leffers@state.or.us
971-673-0139

Tish Mack
Tobacco Regulation and Enforcement Coordinator
letitia.m.mack@state.or.us
971-673-1376

Jennifer Mead, MPH
Aging and People with Disabilities Healthy Aging Coordinator
jennifer.mead@state.or.us
971-673-1035

Scott Montegna, MA
Health Systems Coordinator
scott.p.montegna@state.or.us
971-673-2283

Kati Moseley, MPH
Health Promotion Specialist
katarina.moseley@state.or.us
971-673-1002

Kimba Munson, MSEd
Temporary Tobacco Program Coordinator / Community Programs Liaison for Tara Weston
kimberly.j.munson@state.or.us
971-673-1047

Duyen Ngo, MPH, PhD
Surveillance Technical Lead
duyen.l.ngo@state.or.us
971-673-0984

Shaun Parkman, MA
Evaluation Specialist
shaun.w.parkman@state.or.us
971-673-0894

Meena Patil, MPH
Cancer Senior Research Analyst
meena.patil@state.or.us
971-673-0986

Rebecca Pawlak, MPH
Healthy Worksite Coordinator
rebecca.l.pawlak@state.or.us
971-673-1034

Shira Pope, MS
Asthma Program Coordinator / Community Programs Liaison
shira.r.pope@state.or.us
971-673-1052

Jeff Ruscoe, EdM, CPS
Policy Specialist
jeff.ruscoe@state.or.us
971-673-3182

Beth Sanders, MPH
Health Equity System Coordinator
elizabeth.c.sanders@state.or.us
971-673-0563

Patricia Schoonmaker, MPH
Policy Specialist
patricia.schoonmaker@state.or.us
971-673-0984

Molly Sengvongxay
Cancer Registry Data Consultant
molly.sengvongxay@state.or.us
971-673-0986

Linda Shan, MBA
Cancer Registry Data Consultant
linda.y.shan@state.or.us
971-673-0986

Jeffrey Soule
Cancer Registry Research Analyst
jeffrey.a.soule@state.or.us
971-673-0986

Deborah Towell, CTR
Cancer Registry Program Coordinator
deborah.j.towell@state.or.us
971-673-0986

Beth A. Vorderstrasse
Heart Disease Stroke Prevention / Tobacco Research Analyst
beth.a.vorderstrasse@state.or.us
971-673-1364

Carol Welch
HPCDP Office Support Specialist
carolyn.m.welch@state.or.us
971-673-1347

Tara Weston, MPH
Tobacco Program Coordinator / Community Programs Liaison
tara.e.weston@state.or.us
971-673-1047

Ray Wikle
HPCDP Budgets & Contracts Coordinator (FA2)
raymond.l.wikle@state.or.us
971-673-2281

Roger Wirt, Ph.D.
Health Promotion Research Analyst
roger.a.wirt@state.or.us
971-673-0184

Jennifer Young, MPH, RD
Policy Specialist
jennifer.l.young@state.or.us
971-673-0245

 
 

Programs

Arthritis Program

The goal of the Arthritis Program is to reduce the impact of arthritis in Oregon through a public health approach, working in collaboration with partners in the public and private sectors.

Asthma Program

The Oregon Asthma Program's vision is to improve the quality of life for Oregonians with asthma so that all people in Oregon live, work, play and learn in communities that support health and optimal quality of life.

Healthy Worksites - Wellness@Work

The Wellness@Work Initiative is a public-private partnership that aspires to reach Oregonians with workplace policies and programs that support employees to eat healthier, move more, quit tobacco, and use the kinds of health care that will improve and sustain their health.

Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Program

The Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Program is working towards a heart-healthy and stroke-free Oregon. We focus on developing partnerships and advancing policy to strengthen capacity, evaluate impact and take actions for a heart-healthy and stroke-free Oregon.

Living Well Program

The Living Well Program is based on the Chronic Disease Self-Management Program (or CDSMP). It is a six-week workshop that provides tools for living a healthy life with chronic health conditions including diabetes, arthritis, asthma and heart disease.

Oregon Comprehensive Cancer Control Program

The Oregon Partnership for Cancer Control (OPCC) formed to develop and implement Oregon's Cancer Plan. We are a vibrant partnership organization providing many opportunities to get involved.

Oregon Diabetes Program

The goal of the Oregon Diabetes Program is to reduce the burden of diabetes in Oregon.

Oregon State Cancer Registry (OSCaR)

The Oregon State Cancer Registry (OSCaR) was established in August 1995, when the Oregon Legislature unanimously passed legislation making cancer a reportable disease. The Registry began collecting information on all cancers diagnosed in Oregon as of January 1, 1996.

Physical Activity & Nutrition Program

The Physical Activity & Nutrition Program works with partners in the community to promote daily physical activity and healthy eating through implementation of Oregon's Statewide Physical Activity and Public Health Nutrition Plans.

Tobacco Prevention and Education Program (TPEP)

Oregon's Tobacco Prevention and Education Program (TPEP) was launched in 1997 with a clear and simple mandate — to reduce tobacco-related illness and death.

About Us

Healthy People, Healthy Places

HPCDP's 2020 vision, mission and framework focus on best practices for promoting and supporting optimal health for all Oregonians.

The Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention Section is part of the Center for Prevention and Health Promotion.

Read More

Our 5-year strategic plan tackles chronic disease prevention with a comprehensive, community-wide approach to help people eat better, move more, live tobacco free, and take care of themselves. This means achieving better health, better care, and lower health care costs for all Oregonians.

The Oregon Health Authority's Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention program efforts are supported by funds from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The Tobacco Control program is also funded with tobacco tax revenues designated by Ballot Measure 44 passed by Oregon voters in 1996. At the current time, no state general fund revenues support these programs.

Vision
All people in Oregon live, work, play and learn in communities that support health and optimal quality of life.
Mission
To advance policies, environments and systems that promote health and prevent and manage chronic diseases.

What We Do

Contact Us

Phone:971-673-0984
FAX:971-673-0994
TTY:971-673-0372

Address

Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention Section
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 730
Portland, OR 97232

Hours of Operation

8:00 AM - 5:00 PM