Topics
A to Z
Data &
 Statistics
Forms &
Publications
News &
Advisories
Licensing &
Certification
Rules &
Regulations
Public Health
Directory

Health Care Regulation and Quality Improvement Program (HCRQI)

Staff

HCRQI Administration
Dana Selover, HCRQI Section Manager
dana.a.selover@state.or.us
971-673-0546

Candace Hamilton, EMS & Trauma Program Manager
candace.k.hamilton@state.or.us
971-673-0523

Annabelle Henry, HFLC Program Manager
annabelle.d.henry@state.or.us
971-673-2317

Mellony Bernal
mellony.c.bernal@state.or.us
971-673-3152

Carol Dobrovolny
carol.dobrovolny@state.or.us
971-673-2957

Jana Fussell
jana.fussell@state.or.us
971-673-1108

David Lehrfeld
david.p.lehrfeld@state.or.us
971-673-0631

Stella Rausch-Scott
stella.rausch-scott@state.or.us
971-673-1322
EMS
Candace Hamilton, EMS & Trauma Program Manager
candace.k.hamilton@state.or.us
971-673-0523

John Adams
john.r.adams@state.or.us
971-673-0522

Justin Hardwick
justin.hardwick@state.or.us
971-673-0532

Leslie Huntington
leslie.d.huntington@state.or.us
971-673-0659

Brandon Klocko
brandon.e.klocko@state.or.us
971-673-0530

Phyllis Lebo
phyllis.lebo@state.or.us
971-673-0488

Rebecca Long
rebecca.j.long@state.or.us
971-673-0533

Jara Popinga
jara.popinga@state.or.us
971-673-20564

Renee Schneider
renee.schneider@state.or.us
971-673-3136

Veronica Seymour
veronica.seymour@state.or.us
971-673-0531

Sandra Smith
sandra.k.smith@state.or.us
971-673-3134
Health Facility Licensing and Certification

Annabelle Henry
annabelle.d.henry@state.or.us
971-673-2317

Catherine Cook
catherine.b.cook@state.or.us
971-673-0560

Jane Gardner
jane.gardner@state.or.us
971-673-2318

Facilities Planning Safety Team

Barbara Atkins
barbara.s.atkins@state.or.us
971-673-3257

Lisa Humphries
lisa.a.humphries@state.or.us
971-673-2949

Shane Jenkins
shane.r.jenkins@state.or.us
971-673-3187

Pam Krecklow
pam.l.krecklow@state.or.us
971-673-3188

Patrick Young
patrick.j.young@state.or.us
971-673-0542

Nurse Staffing Team

Anna Davis
anna.l.davis@state.or.us
971-673-2950

Lisa Finkle
lisa.k.finkle@state.or.us
971-673-2755

Survey and Certification Team

Lacey Burnham
lacey.r.burnham@state.or.us
971-673-0549

Annie (Elizabeth) Conrad
elizabeth.a.conrad@state.or.us
971-673-3219

Scott Curry
scott.r.curry@state.or.us
541-734-7525

Wendy Edwards
wendy.l.edwards@state.or.us
971-673-0189

Megan Gobble
megan.l.gobble@state.or.us
971-673-0541

Janelle Pilmer
janelle.a.pilmer@state.or.us
971-673-0544

John Pilmer
john.g.pilmer@state.or.us
971-673-0545

Sanya Rusynyk
sanya.m.rusynyk@state.or.us
971-673-0551

Charla Stephenson
charla.m.stephenson@state.or.us
971-673-3239

Karyn Thrapp
karen.l.thrapp@state.or.us
971-673-0550

Programs

Certificate of Need Program

Most states, including Oregon, have Certificate of Need ("CN") programs in place to control the rapidly escalating costs of health care through planning and regulation. Oregon’s CN program was instituted 1971 and arose out of the legislature's desire to achieve reasonable access to quality health care at a reasonable cost.

Emergency Medical Services and Trauma Systems

EMS and Trauma regulates and provides technical assistance and support to emergency medical care providers throughout Oregon; encourages improvements in the emergency care of pediatric patients; and develops, supports and regulates systems that provide emergency care to victims of sudden illness or traumatic injury.

Health Facility Licensing and Certification Program
The Health Facility Licensing and Certification Program (HFLC) within HCRQI licenses non-long term care health facilities in acute care and community-based settings in Oregon.
  • Survey and Certification team conducts state and federal licensure and certification surveys, and complaint investigations in acute care and community-based programs. These include hospitals, home health agencies, in-home care agencies, hospice programs, ambulatory surgical centers, rural health clinics, special inpatient care facilities, end-stage renal disease dialysis facilities, birthing centers, rehabilitation agencies and clinics, comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facilities, community mental health centers, hemodialysis technicians and portable x-ray suppliers. HFLC surveyors are responsible for nurse staffing surveys and complaint investigations pursuant to Oregon's nurse staffing statutes and administrative rules.
  • Facilities Planning and Safety team (FPS) work includes review of health care facility construction projects in the Facilities Planning and Safety (FPS) program. FPS provides review of plans, consultation and project inspector services for facilities to be licensed and/or certified by OHA, Public Health or DHS Senior Services. These include all public and private general hospitals, nursing homes, residential care and assisted living facilities, ambulatory surgical centers, mental hospitals, dialysis facilities, special inpatient care facilities, hospice facilities and birthing centers.
  • Nurse Staffing team supports the Nurse Staffing Advisory Board (NSAB), implements the hospital nurse staffing laws and works to provide guidance to licensed facilities and their staff members throughout Oregon.

About Us

The HCRQI program regulates health care facilities, providers and suppliers in acute care and community-based programs. These include hospitals, home health agencies, in-home care agencies, hospice programs, ambulatory surgical centers, rural health clinics, special inpatient care facilities, end-stage renal disease dialysis facilities, birthing centers, rehabilitation agencies and clinics, comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facilities, community mental health centers, hemodialysis technicians and portable x-ray suppliers.

HCRQI also oversees the EMS and Trauma Systems Program which develops and regulates systems for quality emergency medical care in Oregon.

The Health Care Regulation and Quality Improvement Program is part of the Center for Health Protection.

Read More
Vision
Improve the health and well-being of Oregonians.
Mission
To ensure that Oregonians have wide access to the health care they need, and that their health care will be safe, of high quality, and meet or exceed state and federal standards. This mission is accomplished through state licensure and federal Medicare certification of health facilities, providers and suppliers.
Values
Protect the rights of patients receiving health care through monitoring to ensure compliance with standards set forth in state rules and federal regulations.

What We Do

Contact Us

Phone:971-673-0540
FAX:971-673-0556
TTY:971-673-0372

Address

Health Care Regulation and Quality Improvement Program (HCRQI)
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 305
Portland, OR 97232

Hours of Operation

8:00 AM - 5:00 PM