Topics
A to Z
Data &
 Statistics
Forms &
Publications
News &
Advisories
Licensing &
Certification
Rules &
Regulations
Public Health
Directory

Environmental Public Health Section (EPH)

Staff

Valerie Aliski
​Food Consultation and Training Coordinator
Foodborne Illness Prevention Program
valerie.aliski@state.or.us
971-673-0445

Karen Bishop
Public Health Educator
Environmental Health Assessment Program
karen.bishop@state.or.us
971-673-1219​

Dan Cain
Industrial Hygienist​ and Program Coordinator
Clandestine Drug Lab Program 
Occupational Public Health Program
daniel.t.cain@state.or.us
971-673-0197

Tara Chetock
Program Coordinator
Beach Monitoring Program
Domestic Well Safety Program 
tara.a.chetock@state.or.us
971-673-1496

Kari Christensen
Program Coordinator
Brownfields Program
kari.a.christensen@state.or.us
971-673-1211

Kelly Cogswell
Epidemiologist
Domestic Well Safety Program
Environmental Public Health Tracking Program
kelly.e.cogswell@state.or.us
971-673-0978

Marina Counter
Research Analyst
​​​​Environmental Public Health Tracking Program
Harmful Algal Blooms Surveillance Program
marina.counter@state.or.us
971-673-0998

Curtis Cude
Interim Section Manager
Environmental Public Health Section
curtis.g.cude@state.or.us
971-673-0975

Mary Dinsdale
Senior Research Analyst
Environmental Public Health Tracking Program
mary.p.dinsdale@state.or.us
971-673-0219

David Dreher
Research Analyst 
Lead Poisoning Prevention Program
Occupational Public Health Program 
 
david.m.dreher@state.or.us
971-673-0443

Nadege Dubuisson
Public Health Educator
Domestic Well Safety Program
Environmental Public Health Tracking Program 
nadege.dubuisson@state.or.us
971-673-1213

Julie Early-Alberts
Program Manager
Environmental Public Health Section
julie.early-alberts@state.or.us
971-673-0438

Elizabeth Everman
Administrative Specialist
Foodborne Illness Prevention Program
Public Pool and Tourist Facilities
elizabeth.a.everman@state.or.us
971-673-0185

Sharon Graham
Research Analyst
Domestic Well Safety Program
Radon Program
sharon.d.watkins@state.or.us
971-673-1894

Dave Farrer

Public Health Toxicologist
david.g.farrer@state.or.us
971-673-0971

Brendon Haggerty
Epidemiologist
Climate & Health Program
Health Impact Assessment Program
brendon.haggerty@state.or.us
971-673-0335

Andrea Hamberg
Program Coordinator 
Health Impact Assessment Program
andrea.hamberg@state.or.us
971-673-0444

Sandra Healy
Executive Specialist
Environmental Public Health Section
sandra.healy@state.or.us
971-673-2320

Rebecca Hillwig
Environmental Health Specialist
Fish Advisories
Harmful Algae Bloom Surveillance Program
rebecca.hillwig@state.or.us
971-673-0431

Todd Hudson
Toxicologist
Environmental Health Assessment Program
todd.hudson@state.or.us
971-673-0024

Lauren Karam
Program Coordinator
Environmental Health Assessment Program
lauren.karam@state.or.us
971-673-0974

Stephen Keifer
Environmental Health Specialist
Public Pool and Tourist Facilities
stephen.b.keifer@state.or.us
971-673-0448

Eric Main
Research Analyst
Environmental Public Health Tracking Program
eric.c.main@state.or.us
971-673-1212

Dave Martin
Food Program Coordinator
Foodborne​ Illness Prevention Program
david.c.martin@state.or.us
971-673-3283

Ben Maynard
Environmental Health Specialist
Lead Poisoning Prevention Program
ben.t.maynard@state.or.us
971-673-0433

Sarah Petras
Program Coordinator
Lead Poisoning Prevention Program
sarah.b.petras@state.or.us
971-673-0429

Cindy Robinson 
Food Consultation and Training Officer
Foodborne Illness Prevention Program
cynthia.g.robinson@state.or.us 
971-673-0454

Brett Sherry
Program Manager
Environmental Public Health Section
brett.w.sherry@state.or.us
971-673-0442

Tiffany Terry
Office Specialist
tiffany.k.terry@state.or.us
971-673-0195​​​

Erica Vaness
Food Consultation and Training Officer
Foodborne Illness Prevention Program
erica.vaness@state.or.us 
971-673-0446

Justin Waltz
Program Analyst/Program Coordinator
Clandestine Drug Lab Program
Pesticide Exposure Safety and Tracking Program
justin.waltz@state.or.us
971-673-1217

Karen Worden
Administrative Specialist
Environmental Public Health Section
karen.a.worden@state.or.us
971-673-1124

Emily York
Program Coordinator
Climate & Health Program
emily.a.york@state.or.us
971-673-0937​

Programs

Beach Monitoring Program

The Beach Monitoring Program monitors the waters along Oregon's coastline for the presence of fecal bacteria, and reports elevated levels to the public.

Clandestine Drug Lab Program

The Clandestine Drug Lab Program works to protect human health by assuring that properties formerly used in illegal drug manufacturing are properly evaluated, decontaminated and are fit for re-occupancy.

Climate and Health Program

The Climate and Health Program works to help Oregonians understand the potential health impacts of climate change and to promote healthy, resilient communities.

Domestic Well Safety Program (DWSP)

DWSP promotes domestic well stewardship and safety throughout Oregon by improving state and local capacity to assess and manage risks associated with private wells.

Environmental Health Assessment Program (EHAP)

Our primary goal is to prevent or reduce exposure to hazardous substances from industrial waste sites, unplanned releases of toxic substances and other sources of pollution present in Oregon's environment.

Foodborne Illness Prevention Program

The Foodborne Illness Prevention Program works in partnership with local health departments, the food service industry, and the public to reduce or eliminate the known causes of foodborne illness.

Harmful Algae Bloom Surveillance

Working to gain a better understanding about the occurrence of toxic algae blooms in Oregon and advise the public when a bloom has been detected, so people can take protective action to avoid illness.

Health Impact Assessment (HIA) Program

The HIA program provides decision-makers with information about how any policy, program or project may affect the health of people.

Lead Poisoning Prevention Program

These programs are working to eliminate lead poisoning in Oregon: Adult Blood Lead Epidemiology and Surveillance, Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention and Lead-Based Paint Programs.

Occupational Public Health Program

Our mission is to identify and prevent work-related illnesses, injuries and deaths and to promote health and safety of all Oregon workers.

Oregon Tracking Program

The Oregon Environmental Public Health Tracking (Oregon Tracking) Program is working to develop a statewide network of health and environmental data that will drive actions to improve the health of communities.

Pesticide Exposure, Safety and Tracking (PEST) Program

We track and conduct investigations of health effects reported by people exposed to pesticides. These reports help us to identify trends in acute pesticide poisonings and emerging pesticide hazards and guide education and outreach efforts for prevention.

Public Pool and Tourist Facility Program

The Public Pool and Tourist Facility Program works in partnership with local health departments, the recreation and tourist industry and the public to reduce the risk of waterborne illness and injury at public facilities.

Radon Program

The Radon Program works to educate the public on the hazards of radon, promotes radon testing and mitigation and encourages radon-resistant new construction throughout the state  to reduce the prevalence of radon-induced lung cancer in Oregon.

About Us

We are Oregon Public Health Division's technical, scientific and educational public health professionals. We identify, assess and report on threats to human health from exposure to environmental and occupational hazards, and advise the people and communities of Oregon to best understand potential risks where they live, work and play in order to remain healthy and safe.

The Environmental Public Health Section is part of the Center for Health Protection.

Read More

The programs in EPH focus on identifying, assessing, mitigating and preventing occupational and environmental illnesses and injuries in Oregon.

We monitor and track reportable environmental illnesses and occupational injuries and diseases and provide information and education to the public and health care providers on ways to reduce and prevent environmental health risks.

Mission

To improve the safety, health and well-being of all Oregonians.

  • Our programs are designed to reduce occupational and environmental injuries and illnesses by identifying, investigating, assessing and addressing the problem. We collaborate with communities, partner agencies and academia to determine ways that are effective in reducing and preventing toxic exposures and occupational injuries.
  • We provide research and education services to the public, health care providers and industry by consulting with our partners and the general public on topics ranging from electromagnetic fields, cancer clusters and  hazardous material spills to superfund site contaminants, statewide fish advisories or toxic algae blooms.

What We Do

Contact Us

Phone:971-673-0977
FAX:971-673-0979
Toll-free: 877-290-6767

Address

Environmental Public Health Section (EPH)
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 640, Portland, OR 97232

Hours of Operation

8:00 AM - 5:00 PM