Topics
A to Z
Data &
 Statistics
Forms &
Publications
News &
Advisories
Licensing &
Certification
Rules &
Regulations
Public Health
Directory
Print this Article   Bookmark and Share
Getting Immunization Records

For children under 18 years of age

Parents or guardians may access their children's immunization record in several ways.

  • Contact your child's medical provider. They may provide you a copy from their records or they can login to ALERT IIS and print a copy of your child's record for you.
  • Talk to the staff of your child's school or daycare center. If you need a record for child care or school attendance, the staff may be able to print a Certificate of Immunization Status form from ALERT IIS that will meet the requirement for an immunization record.

If neither of these provide the information you need, parents or guardians may request a copy of their child's record from ALERT IIS by downloading and completing the form below.

Parent, Guardian Record Request (pdf)


For adults age 18 years and older

  • Contact your medical provider. They may provide you a copy from their records or they can login to ALERT IIS and print a copy of your record for you.
  • Contact the most recent school you've attended. Public and charter schools are required to keep immunization records on file for three years or until a former student turns 21, whichever is longer. Private schools are required to keep immunization records for one year.
  • Contact your parent or guardian. If you need a record of the vaccines you received as a small child, it is possible that your parent or guardian still has a copy of your childhood record.

If none of these suggestions provide the information you need, you may request a copy of your record from ALERT IIS by downloading and completing the form below.

Adult Record Request (pdf)

If you would like more information:

ALERT Brochure (pdf)

ALERT Brochure Spanish (pdf)​


Options for Opting Out

For adults age 18 years and older

Adults age 18 years and older have the right to request that their record be either sealed, so authorized users cannot access it, or purged from the information system altogether. Records that are sealed can later be unsealed by the patient and they can be used in the case of a declared public health emergency. Purged records are deleted from the system. Purged information cannot be recovered.

Adult Opt Out Form (pdf)

For children under 18 years of age

Children’s records may be sealed only in specific circumstances as specified by Oregon law. Parents or legal guardians must provide documentation of their child’s circumstances. Upon approval, the record will be sealed until the child reaches 18 years of age. At that point, the adult may request that their record be unsealed or with no action, the record will continue to be sealed.

Oregon law allows a child’s record to be sealed when:

1. The child has a disease or condition that precludes administration of some or all vaccines; or,

2. Concern exists that a third party could use the information in the record to locate the child, or other family members who reside with the child, and the parent or legal guardian reasonably believes there is a risk of harm if they are located.

The law requires that the request for sealing the child’s record be accompanied by a statement and evidence that supports the request. This evidence may include: 1) copies of police reports, restraining orders or other legal documents pertaining to the need for physical protection; or, 2) a licensed physician’s statement indicating a specific medical diagnosis that precludes immunization with some or all vaccine antigens.

Child Opt Out Form (pdf)