Topics
A to Z
Data &
 Statistics
Forms &
Publications
News &
Advisories
Licensing &
Certification
Rules &
Regulations
Public Health
Directory
Print this Article   Bookmark and Share
Rules and Laws for Pharmacies

ORS regarding Pharmacists' Vaccinating 11 Years and above

689.645 Power to administer and prescribe vaccines; rules.

  1. In accordance with rules adopted by the State Board of Pharmacy under ORS 689.205, a pharmacist may administer vaccines to persons who are at least 11 years of age.
  2. The board may adopt rules allowing a pharmacist to prescribe vaccines to persons who are at least 11 years of age. The rules may only be as broad as necessary to enable pharmacists to enroll and participate in the Vaccines for Children Program administered by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
  3. The board is authorized to issue, to licensed pharmacists who have completed training accredited by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education or a similar health authority or professional body, certificates of special competency in the prescription and administration of vaccines to persons who are at least 11 years of age.
  4. The board shall adopt rules relating to the reporting of the prescription and administration of vaccines to a patient’s primary health care provider and to the Oregon Health Authority.
  5. The board shall adopt rules requiring pharmacists to establish protocols for the prescription and administration of vaccines to persons who are at least 11 years of age.
  6. The board shall convene a volunteer Immunization and Vaccination Advisory Committee consisting of no more than nine members for the purpose of advising the board in promulgating rules under this section. The committee shall consist of one representative from the Oregon Health Authority, two representatives from the Oregon Medical Board, two representatives from the Oregon State Board of Nursing and two representatives from the State Board of Pharmacy and no more than two pharmacists other than the representatives from the State Board of Pharmacy. [1999 c.350 §3b; 2005 c.312 §1; 2009 c.250 §1; 2009 c.595 §1104; 2011 c.245 §1]

 


OAR Regarding Vaccinating Children Less than 11 Years of Age (Please see 3a - 3b)

855-019-0265

Administration of Drugs

  1. In accordance with ORS 689.655, a pharmacist may administer a drug or device as specified in this rule.
  2. A pharmacist who administers a drug or device must:
    1. Observe, monitor, report, and otherwise take appropriate action regarding desired effect, side effect, interaction, and contraindication associated with administering the drug or device; and
    2. Ensure a record is kept for three years of such activities. This record shall include but is not limited to:
    1. Patient identifier;
    2. Drug or device and strength;
    3. Route and site of administration;
    4. Date and time of administration;
    5. Pharmacist identifier.
  3. The pharmacist must be acting:
    1. Under the direction of or pursuant to a lawful prescription or order issued by a licensed practitioner acting within the scope of the practitioner’s practice or;
    2. In accordance with a written protocol or collaborative drug therapy agreement with a licensed practitioner.
  4. The pharmacist must be able to document that they have received training on the drug or device to be administered and the route of administration. Such training may include a program approved by the ACPE, curriculum based programs from an ACPE-accredited college, state or local health department programs, training by an appropriately qualified practitioner, or programs approved by the Board.
  5. The pharmacist may administer a drug or device in conjunction with training the patient or the patient’s caregiver how to administer or self-administer the drug or device.


  6. More information can be found in the Oregon Revised Statutes and Oregon Administrative Rules pages:

    Please call the Oregon Immunization Program at 971-673-0300 with any questions.