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Health Facilities Licensing and Certification 
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 305 
Portland, Oregon 97232 
971-673-0540 
971-673-0556 (Fax) 

July 2016 
 
To:    Oregon In-home care agencies 
 
From: Health Facilities Licensing and Certification (HFLC) 
  In-home care agency (IHC) program 
 
RE:   In-Home Care Mandatory Abuse Reporting Guidelines  
 
Purpose: 
The purpose of this memo is to address the mandatory abuse reporting guidelines 
for in-home care agencies.  
 
Applicable Rules: 
The Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) 333-536-0005(1) & 333-536-0050(8)(j). 
 

IHC Mandatory Abuse Reporting Guidelines 
 
OAR 333-536-0005(1) defines “abuse” as including but not limited to: 
 
 Physical injury  

 Neglect or withholding of services 

 Abandonment 

 Willful infliction of physical pain or injury 

 Verbal and Emotional (including derogatory or inappropriate names, phrases 

or profanity, ridicule, harassment, coercion, threats, cursing, intimidation or 

inappropriate sexual comments or conduct of such a nature as to threaten 

significant physical or emotional harm to a person) 

 Financial exploitation (including taking or appropriating money or property) 

 Sexual contact with a non-consenting person or with a person considered 

incapable of consenting. 
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How to Report Abuse 
 
OAR 333-536-0050(8)(j), requires in-home care agencies to immediately report any 
abuse of a child or elder person to the appropriate authorities. If you have cause to 
believe your client is being, or has been abused, you are required to report this 
information to the appropriate Department of Human Services (DHS) office 
immediately. See contact information listed below: 
 
Elder or Peoples with Physical Disabilities Abuse Reporting 
You must immediately make an oral report, to your county DHS office of Aging and 
Peoples with Physical Disabilities (APD), local law enforcement agency or call 1-
855-503-SAFE (7233). 
 
Child Abuse Reporting 
You must immediately make an oral report, to your county DHS office of Children, 
Adults and Family Services (CAF), local law enforcement agency or call 1-855-503-
SAFE (7233). 
 
Mentally or Developmentally Disabled Persons Abuse Reporting 
You must immediately make an oral report, to your county DHS office of Addictions 
and Mental Health Division (AMH), local law enforcement agency, or call 1-855-
503-SAFE (7233). 
 
Non-Long Term Health Care Facility Complaint Reporting 
Health Facilities Licensing and Certification (HFLC) 
800 NE Oregon St. #305 
Portland, OR 97232 
Phone: (971) 673-0540 
Fax: (971) 673-0556 
Email: mailbox.hclc@state.or.us  Website: www.healthoregon.org/hcrqi  
 
More information is available online at the following websites: 
 
 https://www.oregon.gov/dhs/abuse/pages/mandatory_report.aspx 

 
 http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/abuse/Pages/index.aspx 

 
 https://apps.state.or.us/Forms/Served/de9373.pdf 

 
**An Elder is defined as any person 65 years of age or older. 
**A Child is defined as an unmarried person who is under 18 years of age. 
 

If you have any questions please email the IHC survey team at 
mailbox.hclc@state.or.us. 


